The Cry (Paperback)
  • The Cry (Paperback)
zoom

The Cry (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 320 Pages / Published: 05/09/2013
  • We can order this from the publisher

UK delivery within 3-4 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Longlisted for the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award When a baby goes missing on a lonely roadside in Australia, it sets off a police investigation that will become a media sensation and dinner-table talk across the world. Lies, rumours and guilt snowball, causing the parents, Joanna and Alistair, to slowly turn against each other. Finally Joanna starts thinking the unthinkable: could the truth be even more terrible than she suspected? And what will it take to make things right? Perfect for fans of Julia Crouch, Sophie Hannah and Laura Lippman, The Cry was widely acclaimed as one of the best psychological thrillers of the year. There's a gripping moral dilemma at its heart and characters who will keep you guessing on every page.

Publisher: Faber & Faber
ISBN: 9780571287703
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 247 g
Dimensions: 198 x 126 x 19 mm
Edition: Main


MEDIA REVIEWS
'Astonishingly good. It is utterly harrowing, completely plausible, constantly nerve-shredding ... It plays on the deepest, darkest fears of all parents about their children, and embeds that everyday terror in a plot so up-to-the-minute that you'll swear it's been lifted from the pages of a newspaper ... The Cry is a remarkable novel - its devastating power all the stronger for its realistic rendering. Brilliant stuff.' Doug Johnstone, Independent on Sunday Exceptional ... this powerful noir tale is by turns devastating and uplifting. Chris Ewan, author of Safe House A book you find yourself greedily gulping down. Herald The harrowing plot keeps you gripped until the final, devastating revelation. Sunday Mirror In this very modern novel, which arrives at a startling conclusion, Fitzgerald manipulates our knowledge of earlier cases in which women have been wrongly accused. -- Joan Smith Sunday Times The Cry really is extraordinary. In a just universe, it will be [Helen FitzGerald's] Gone Girl moment. Read it at once. Steve Mosby 'Fitzgerald's punchy thriller fleshes out new circles of parental hell -- Emma Hagestadt Independent Brilliant ... 300 pages of taut, sharp, chilling and often laugh out loud funny genius. Lisa Jewell It is not until the final pages and after twist upon twist that we are finally given a punch in the stomach, an ending that still leaves a question. Did she or didn't she? Is she mad or not? You've got to read this inventive domestic drama to find out. Highly recommended, read it and then all her others, particularly The Donor. She is very special. lovereading.co.uk An incredible read. I couldn't put it down. A beautifully crafted, heartbreaking story. Lisa O'Donnell 'THE CRY is excellent; unsettling and filled with moral ambiguity. Go read her. Now.' Russel D McLean This book takes a nightmare scenario and wrings every last drop of suspense out of it. It's gut wrenching in places, heart breaking in others, a purely visceral experience like very few other crime novels I can think of ... The Cry has been packaged to appeal to fans of Sophie Hannah and Julia Crouch - those doyennes of domestic noir - and while FitzGerald's style is more streamlined, darker and earthier, I think those fans will do well to add her to their must-read lists. 2013 has already proved to be a strong year for psychological fiction but The Cry is without question the best yet. -- Eva Dolan Crime Fiction Lover 'Her finest book to date ... thriller writing of the very highest order. Big Issue Scotland 'Stunningly good.' Mark Edwards My favourite read of 2013 (so far - but I can't see it being beat). Luca Veste I loved it. It's beautifully written and absolutely heartrending. I loved every page and couldn't put the bloody thing down. James Carol What a book! Superb. Michael Malone

You may also be interested in...

How to Kill Your Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Secret History
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
The Bullet that Missed
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Ink Black Heart
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback
Fairy Tale
Added to basket
£22.00   £17.99
Hardback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Treacle Walker
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Flicker in the Dark
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Oh William!
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The American Roommate Experiment
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Island of Missing Trees
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
SMBSLT

“It will stay with you!”

This is a story about Joanna, Alistair and their baby Noah, more characters come into play but these three are the starting point. On a long haul flight from Glasgow to Australia, a distraught Joanna tries to console... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 41

“Gripping psychological thriller”

Intense and superbly drawn human drama that offers a terrifying glimpse into an escalating family crisis, lived under the global glare of media scrutiny.

Paperback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 37

“Not as good as the TV series”

I read this book after watching the TV series, something I wouldn't normally do as I usually always prefer the book and am disappointed with the show. However this was a book club read so thought I would give it... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 31

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.