The Crown (Paperback)
  • The Crown (Paperback)
zoom

The Crown (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 496 Pages / Published: 28/02/2013
  • Temporarily unavailable

Currently unavailable to order

Email me when available

Stay one step ahead and let us notify you when this item is next available to order

Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

For secrets this deadly, blood will dye the throne of a nation... A superb Tudor novel from the author of THE CHALICE.

London, May 1537. As those closest to the throne are locked in a fierce fight against those desperate to save England's monasteries from destruction, young Joanna Stafford faces a far more personal battle. When Joanna learns her cousin is about to be burned at the stake for rebelling against Henry VIII, she makes a decision that will change not only her life, but quite possibly the fate of a nation.

It will mean turning her back on everything she knows, for Joanna is a novice at Dartford Priory - and to save her family, she must break the sacred rule of enclosure. But running away is only the first transgression. From the Tower of London, to secret assignations and from Stonehenge to the royal court - Joanna becomes entangled with a secret whose deadly past stretches farther back than anyone had imagined.

As her mission draws a trail in blood from the last whispered words of a queen to a pattern of unnatural deaths in the royal lineage, Joanna must determine who to trust, and how far she's willing to go to protect her life, her family and everything she holds dear.

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781409135791
Number of pages: 496
Weight: 402 g
Dimensions: 157 x 202 x 34 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A stunning debut. One of the best historical novels I have ever read -- Alison Weir
Fabulous debut thriller * inStyle UK *
A gripping treasure-hunt-like romp through one of the bloodiest periods in British history. * GOOD HOUSEKEEPING *
Bilyeau deftly weaves extensive historical detail throughout, but the real draw of this suspenseful novel is its juicy blend of lust, murder, conspiracy and betrayal. * O, The Oprah Magazine *
Strong character development, realistic historical detail, and an atmosphere of pervasive tension coupled to a fast-placed plot make it compulsively readable. * BOOKLIST *
This fast-paced debut delivers Tudor intrigue and mystical thrills in one satisfying package - and leaves room for a sequel. * KIRKUS *
Will appeal to fans of Dan Brown and Philippa Gregory * LIBRARY JOURNAL *
Nancy Bilyeau's polished, inventive debut has all the ingredients of the best historical fiction: a broad cast of characters, well-imagined settings, and vivid story-telling...In Joanna Stafford, Bilyeau has given us a memorable character who us prepared to risk her life to save what she must most values, while Stafford's desperate search for a lost religious relic will satisfy even the most ardent mystery fans -- Deborah Harkness, author of A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES
The events of the period come to life in Nancy Bilyeau's dazzling and heart-wrenching novel. The Crown is is evocative, provocative, and full of intriguing characters - a gorgeously written novel that has mystery and history, pathos and depth. This is a stunning debut about a woman whose spirit shines through and deeply moves the reader -- M J Rose
With a strong protagonist and some well-drawn characters, there are political intrigues, power struggles and deadly encounters in this novel of mystery and suspense. * CHOICE MAGAZINE *
A Historical Fiction title that not only brought together the elements of the historical beautifully but also wove a mystery within that kept me glued from start to finish...a cracking read. * FALCATA TIMES *
Joanna Stafford is a young novice caught up in power struggles familiar to readers of Mantel and CJ Sansom, but with the elements of magic that echo the historical thrillers of Kate Mosse. * MSLEXIA *

You may also be interested in...

The White Queen
Added to basket
An Echo in the Bone
Added to basket
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Boleyn Inheritance
Added to basket
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
Master and Commander
Added to basket
Dissolution
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
American Pastoral
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Leopard
Added to basket
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
The Empty Throne
Added to basket
The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Bring Up the Bodies
Added to basket
The Name of the Rose
Added to basket

“Tudor Mystery”

I enjoyed this book, but it was slow at first. Its got lots going for it and kept my attetnion throughout. Like most people I only know the bare minimum about the Tudors - Henry VIII, his six wives and of course... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 61

“The Crown”

I found this book reasonably enjoyable. I would so love to be more enthusiastic, as the Tudor era is one I find mesmerising, but I think overall it was average. That is not to say it was awful, as at times I was quite... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 28

“A local book not necessarily for local people.”

First off, it's set in Dartford!! Not since Keith Richards' biography has Dartford been mentioned in a published book,I want to say in a warm and praising manner, but really I mean at all. AND it's... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 16

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.