• Sign In
  • Help
  • My Basket0
The Crow Garden (Hardback)
  • The Crow Garden (Hardback)

The Crow Garden (Hardback)

1 Review Sign in to write a review
Hardback 384 Pages / Published: 05/10/2017
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Susan Hill meets Wilkie Collins in Alison Littlewood's latest chiller. Mad-doctor Nathaniel is obsessed with the beautiful Mrs Harleston - but is she truly delusional? Or is she hiding secrets that should never be uncovered . . . ?

Haunted by his father's suicide, Nathaniel Kerner walks away from the highly prestigious life of a consultant to become a mad-doctor. He takes up a position at Crakethorne Asylum, but the proprietor is more interested in phrenology and his growing collection of skulls than the patients' minds. Nathaniel's only interesting case is Mrs Victoria Adelina - Vita - Harleston: her husband accuses her of hysteria and delusions - but she accuses him of hiding secrets far more terrible.

Nathaniel is increasingly obsessed with Vita, but when he has her mesmerised, there are unexpected results. Vita starts hearing voices, the way she used to - her grandmother always claimed they came from beyond the grave - but it also unleashes her own powers of mesmerism . . . and a desperate need to escape.

Increasingly besotted, Nathaniel finds himself caught up in a world of seances and stage mesmerism in his bid to find Vita and save her.

But constantly hanging over him is this warning: that doctors are apt to catch the diseases with which they are surrounded - whether of the body or the mind . . .

'[An] enjoyable excursion . . . gripping' The Sunday Times

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
ISBN: 9781786485250
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 518 g
Dimensions: 223 x 143 x 34 mm

Excellent . . . she creates a chilling atmosphere of skulls, seances, secrets and hysteria -- Antonia Senior * The Times *
[An] enjoyable excursion . . . gripping * The Sunday Times *
A Gothic masterpiece * The Lady *
[A] deliciously atmospheric psychological thriller . . . will appeal to fans of Susan Hill and Wilkie Collins * BookRiot *
A book which I know I will want to re-read time and time again . . . a brilliant example of historical fiction * The Bookish Bundle *
An excellent, chilling, autumn read, all about the dangers of power, obsession, and guilt, this is sure to be another hit * Blue Book Balloon *
Eerie and unsettling . . . Alison Littlewood has crafted a sublime blend of the psychological and the supernatural * Starburst *
A great seasonal treat -- Becky Lea * SciFiNow *
A rare treat! I love the idea of novels about madness but it is rare that I find one so well written . . . a fantastic novel and highly recommended! * Life Has A Funny Way of Sneaking Up On You *
Alison has been churning out intriguing and clever chilling stories that always manage to raise my heartbeat * Upcoming4.me on Alison Littlewood *
There's an amazing sense of place and time in this novel, as Littlewood perfectly captures the literary style, attitudes, and class consciousness of Victorian England * Publishers Weekly on The Hidden People *
Hypnotic and intelligent with buckets of atmosphere . . . Littlewood expertly weaves themes of misogyny and mythology into a psychological page-turner that feels both familiar and fresh * SFX *
The atmosphere Alison Littlewood conjures up in The Hidden People is absorbing and there's a real sense of foreboding, you feel the fairies might show themselves at any moment. * Irish News *
Alison Littlewood is one of the brightest stars in the horror genre at the moment . . . The Hidden People is impeccably written, quiet, evocative horror. It's yet another must buy from Littlewood * This is Horror *
Littlewood's dark and gothic style had me mesmerised from the very first page . . . a deeply compelling, fascinating novel, written in a way that had me, the reader, mesmerised also. * Book Babe Review *
A masterclass in confusion -- Marie O'Regan * SciFiBulletin *
For those who enjoy the growing genre of dark Victorian Gothic fiction, this will prove a welcome addition, wrapped about with fogs and spirits and dangerous beauty * The Idle Woman *
The Crow Garden flows smoothly, mixing atmosphere and language with effective precision . . . by far Littlewood's best, and by the looks of it, she's only going to get better. * British Fantasy Society *

You may also be interested in...

The Lady of the Rivers
Added to basket
The Leopard
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
An Echo in the Bone
Added to basket
The Other Queen
Added to basket
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
A Place Called Winter: Costa Shortlisted 2015
Added to basket
The Constant Princess
Added to basket
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Bring Up the Bodies
Added to basket
A Place of Greater Safety
Added to basket
The King's Curse
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket
The White Queen
Added to basket
Edge of Eternity
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Master and Commander
Added to basket


View all

“A perfect book for a dark and stormy night”

Newly qualified Nathaniel Kerner leaves his widowed mother behind in London to work in windswept Yorkshire. His father’s suicide seems to have made it hard for him to find work but the director of Crakethorne Asylum... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
18th October 2017
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.