The Crow Folk: The Witches of Woodville 1 (Paperback)
  • The Crow Folk: The Witches of Woodville 1 (Paperback)
zoom

The Crow Folk: The Witches of Woodville 1 (Paperback)

(author)
7 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 04/02/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
'Nothing prepared me for just how brilliant this book is. A modern day successor to Alan Garner' Ginger Nuts of Horror

'A story that is full of magic and delight that will thrill readers of any age'-Rowan Coleman, author of The Girl at the Window

'Extremely funny, full of imagination, verve and typical English 'home counties' wit and if you like Dad's Army (who doesn't?), you'll love it'-Irish Independent

As Spitfires roar overhead and a dark figure stalks the village of Woodville, a young woman will discover her destiny . . .

Faye Bright always felt a little bit different. And today she's found out why. She's just stumbled across her late mother's diary which includes not only a spiffing recipe for jam roly-poly, but spells, incantations, runes and recitations . . . a witch's notebook.

And Faye has inherited her mother's abilities.

Just in time, too. The Crow Folk are coming. Led by the charismatic Pumpkinhead, their strange magic threatens Faye and the villagers. Armed with little more than her mum's words, her trusty bicycle, the grudging help of two bickering old ladies, and some aggressive church bellringing, Faye will find herself on the front lines of a war nobody expected.

For fans of Lev Grossman and Terry Pratchett comes this delightful novel of war, mystery and a little bit of magic . . .

Praise for THE CROW FOLK

'Swept me straight back to days of losing myself in Diana Wynne Jones novels, and getting lost in truly absorbing, sometimes scary, sometimes emotive adventure with its roots in folklore and history. A story that is full of magic and delight that will thrill readers of any age'-Rowan Coleman, author of The Girl at the Window

'Stay has brewed a cracking blend of charm and creepiness in The Crow Folk. A rip-roaring tale of bravery and witchcraft on the wartime home front, expertly told with lashings of wit and warmth'-Pernille Hughes, author of Probably the Best Kiss in the World

'A delightful mash-up of Dad's Army and Charmed. An absolute treat'-CK McDonnell, author of Stranger Times

'Warm, witty, witchy wartime fun. With Mark Stay as writer you're always guaranteed a magical read'-Julie Wassmer, author of the Whitstable Pearl Mysteries

'You'll love it: Doctor Who meets Worzel Gummidge'-Lorna Cook, author of The Forgotten Village

'A jolly romp with witches, demons, and bellringing. Pratchett fans will enjoy this, and Faye is a feisty and fun hero. Dad's Army meets Witches of Eastwick'-Ian W Sainsbury

Praise for MARK STAY and BACK TO REALITY

'Heartwarming, inventive, and funny. Like if Nick Hornby wrote a time travel, body swap adventure!'-New York Times bestselling author Mimi Strong

'A compelling story where the comedy compliments the drama and keeps you turning the page... A delight'-Caimh McDonnell, bestselling author of The Dublin Trilogy

'I LOVE IT! It's Back to the Future meets Freaky Friday' -#1 Kindle bestselling author of Hot Mess, Lucy Vine

'If you love time travel and rock and roll, you'll love this book!' -Julie Cohen, author of Together

'Sliding Doors meets Back to the Future in a story to make you sing with joy' -Karen Ball, Speckled Pen

'A magnificent book! Loved every page. Beautifully written' -Callan McAuliffe, actor The Walking Dead

'Doctor Who meets Freaky Friday at Glastonbury. With added cow. Escapist SF fun for everyone who wants to scratch their Terry Pratchett itch'-Ian W Sainsbury, Winner of the Kindle Storyteller Award 2019

'A miraculous, laugh-out-loud journey to a past never lived. Original and captivating!'-Keith A Pearson

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN: 9781471197970
Number of pages: 352
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 21 mm

BEN AARONOVITCH

BEN AARONOVITCH

Canterbury - Rose Lane
Friday 28th January 18:30

Ben's fantasy police procedurals set in a reimagined London have a Pratchett level of subversive wit. They have sold millions. Come and get any of his books signed. He will be interviewed by Mark Stay, whose Crow Folk is a tale of witches, demons, and bellringers in wartime Kent.Think Dads Army, with paranormal activity.

View

You may also be interested in...

Sharpe's Eagle
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Black Flag
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
As Meat Loves Salt
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Far Side of the World
Added to basket
The Commodore
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Sharpe's Prey
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Clarissa Oakes
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Master and Commander
Added to basket
Sharpe's Tiger
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Sharpe's Rifles
Added to basket
Sharpe's Fortress
Added to basket
The Wine-Dark Sea
Added to basket
Sharpe's Sword
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Jane Skudder

“A fun book in a World War Two, witchcraft and demonic possession kind of way”

Faye Bright lives with her father, in a pub, in a small village called Woodville during the Second World War. Their position, in Kent, means that bombing is a constant threat and Faye does her bit by helping out as an... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Witches, scarecrows, and a bunch of birds”

I was expecting a lot of things going into The Crow Folk. I can’t say that a place on my favourites shelf was one of them. But here we are.

The story follows Faye Bright, a young girl living in a rural part of Kent... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Witches, Scarecrows & World War 2”

Thank you to NetGalley for providing me with an eARC in exchange for a fair review.

Our protagonist Faye Bright is a smart & capable girl, pushing against the constraints of the restrictive expectations of... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.