Ts&Cs apply
The Crow Folk: The Witches of Woodville 1 (Paperback)
  • The Crow Folk: The Witches of Woodville 1 (Paperback)
zoom

The Crow Folk: The Witches of Woodville 1 (Paperback)

(author)
8 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 352 Pages
Published: 04/02/2021
  • 5+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 48 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
'Beautiful and engaging and clever and what more could you ask for in a book?'-Manda Scott, bestselling author of A Treachery of Spies

'A story that is full of magic and delight that will thrill readers of any age'-Rowan Coleman, author of The Girl at the Window

'Extremely funny, full of imagination, verve and typical English 'home counties' wit'-Irish Independent

As Spitfires roar overhead and a dark figure stalks the village of Woodville, a young woman will discover her destiny . . .

Faye Bright always felt a little bit different. And today she's found out why. She's just stumbled across her late mother's diary which includes not only a spiffing recipe for jam roly-poly, but spells, incantations, runes and recitations . . . a witch's notebook.

And Faye has inherited her mother's abilities.

Just in time, too. The Crow Folk are coming. Led by the charismatic Pumpkinhead, their strange magic threatens Faye and the villagers. Armed with little more than her mum's words, her trusty bicycle, the grudging help of two bickering old ladies, and some aggressive church bellringing, Faye will find herself on the front lines of a war nobody expected.

For fans of Lev Grossman and Terry Pratchett comes this delightful novel of war, mystery and a little bit of magic . . .

Don't miss the other magical books in the WITCHES OF WOODVILLE series!
#1 The Crow Folk
#2 Babes in the Wood
#3 The Ghost of Ivy Barn


Praise for THE CROW FOLK

'Stay has brewed a cracking blend of charm and creepiness in The Crow Folk. A rip-roaring tale of bravery and witchcraft on the wartime home front, expertly told with lashings of wit and warmth'-Pernille Hughes, author of Probably the Best Kiss in the World

'A delightful mash-up of Dad's Army and Charmed. An absolute treat'-CK McDonnell, author of Stranger Times

'Warm, witty, witchy wartime fun. With Mark Stay as writer you're always guaranteed a magical read'-Julie Wassmer, author of the Whitstable Pearl Mysteries

'You'll love it: Doctor Who meets Worzel Gummidge'-Lorna Cook, author of The Forgotten Village

'A jolly romp with witches, demons, and bellringing. Pratchett fans will enjoy this, and Faye is a feisty and fun hero. Dad's Army meets Witches of Eastwick'-Ian W Sainsbury

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN: 9781471197970
Number of pages: 352
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 21 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Commodore
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Sharpe's Prey
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Sharpe's Triumph
Added to basket
The Hundred Days
Added to basket
Sharpe's Tiger
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Ionian Mission
Added to basket
The Fort
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
As Meat Loves Salt
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Sharpe's Sword
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Desolation Island
Added to basket
Zorro
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Sharpe's Rifles
Added to basket
Sharpe's Fortress
Added to basket
The Far Side of the World
Added to basket
Jane Skudder

“A fun book in a World War Two, witchcraft and demonic possession kind of way”

Faye Bright lives with her father, in a pub, in a small village called Woodville during the Second World War. Their position, in Kent, means that bombing is a constant threat and Faye does her bit by helping out as an... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3
stef

“Witches, scarecrows, and a bunch of birds”

I was expecting a lot of things going into The Crow Folk. I can’t say that a place on my favourites shelf was one of them. But here we are.

The story follows Faye Bright, a young girl living in a rural part of Kent... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Very enjoyable”

A brilliant mix of history and Fae, retelling the world at war....with other worlds. It's rla really heartfelt and enjoyable read with the witty protagonist similar to Pratchett's Tiffany Aching, it is easy... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.