The Cost of Knowing (Paperback)
  • The Cost of Knowing (Paperback)
zoom

The Cost of Knowing (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 352 Pages
Published: 11/03/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

From the acclaimed author of SLAY, comes a gripping novel, about brothers, grief, and what it means to be a young Black man in America. For fans of Dear Martin and They Both Die at the End.

Sixteen year old Alex Rufus lives with his younger brother, Isaiah, in a quiet neighbourhood in Chicago. But recently their neighbours have started calling the cops on anyone who doesn't look like their version of safe.

Alex starts avoiding his neighbourhood by taking on more shifts at the local ice-cream shop, Scoops, and spending time with his girlfriend, Talia. But when Alex picks up an old family photo, everything changes: he has an intense vision that Isaiah might die.

Alex wants to save Isaiah, but he knows the dangers of the future. How will he protect his brother when the street they grew up on doesn't feel like home anymore?

A story that speaks to hard truths about race, prejudice, and the inherent injustice that permeates the world we live in.

Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
ISBN: 9781444951745
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 274 g
Dimensions: 196 x 126 x 28 mm

You may also be interested in...

Ruthless Vows
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
The Doomsday Date
Added to basket
Six of Crows
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Coraline
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Mockingjay
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Summer I Turned Pretty
Added to basket
Murtagh
Added to basket
£25.00
Hardback
The Inheritance Games
Added to basket
Five Survive
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Heartstopper Volume 1
Added to basket
Tom Gates 21: Five Star Stories
Added to basket
Catching Fire
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Powerful
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Tom Gates 20: Happy to Help (eventually)
Added to basket
One Of Us Is Lying
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

“Just phenomenal”

The Cost of Knowing has to be one of the best books I’ve read so far this year. It’s a tough but necessary read with a fascinating concept and heart-breakingly emotional punch.

Morris tackles racism and its... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Incredible”

As much as I loved this authors debut, this was orders of magnitude better. It has this magical realism element that I was hooked on from the start and mix in with the sprinkle of racial tension and this is explosive.... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“I'll read anything Brittney Morris write & you should too.”

This one is definitely a lot to read and so hard to rate. Ever since his parents died, Alex has been able to see the immediate future of anything he touches. He's learned to live with it, but it's affecting... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: