The Cornish Captive - Cornish (Paperback)
  • The Cornish Captive - Cornish (Paperback)
zoom

The Cornish Captive - Cornish (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 464 Pages
Published: 06/01/2022
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

The sixth novel in a stunning series set in eighteenth-century Cornwall, perfect for fans of Poldark, Tracy Rees and Dinah Jefferies

Cornwall, 1800.

Imprisoned on false pretences, Madeleine Pelligrew, former mistress of Pendenning Hall, has spent the last 14 years shuttled between increasingly destitute and decrepit mad houses. When a strange man appears out of the blue to release her, she can't quite believe that her freedom comes without a price. Hiding her identity, Madeleine determines to discover the truth about what happened all those years ago.

Unsure who to trust and alone in the world, Madeleine strikes a tentative friendship with a French prisoner on parole, Captain Pierre de la Croix. But as she learns more about the reasons behind her imprisonment, and about those who schemed to hide her away for so long, she starts to wonder if Pierre is in fact the man he says he is. As Madeleine's past collides with her present, can she find the strength to follow her heart, no matter the personal cost?

Publisher: Atlantic Books
ISBN: 9781838954598
Number of pages: 464
Weight: 322 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 27 mm
Edition: Main


MEDIA REVIEWS

A most enjoyable read set in the wild and majestic landscape of Cornwall. It will delight Poldark fans. - Ellie Dean, author of the Cliffhaven series, on Pengelly's Daughter

You may also be interested in...

Wuthering Heights
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
Added to basket
Lolita
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Jane Eyre
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Brave New World
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Frankenstein
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Never Let Me Go
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Poor Things
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Zone of Interest
Added to basket
The Old Man and the Sea
Added to basket
A Month in the Country
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Little Women
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Dead Poets Society
Added to basket
The Picture of Dorian Gray
Added to basket
Rebecca
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback

“A lovely mystery and love story”

This is a lovely story with twists and turns on every page that keep you guessing, without going to extremes. The heroine, Madeleine, has been disposed of by being thrown into a series of lunatic asylums in Cornwall,... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“A complex story of a woman's fight to survive challenging circumstances”

This is a vivid historical novel which has as its main theme the way women could be accused of insanity as a way of control and even imprisonment in the early 1800s. The main character, Madeleine Pellingrew, has been... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Better than first seems”

This is the first book of Nicola Pryce's that I have read. At the start of 'The Cornish Captive' I was struggling to get into the story and considered giving up on the book (something I very rarely do).... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: