The Confession (Paperback)
  • The Confession (Paperback)
zoom

The Confession (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 432 Pages / Published: 09/08/2018
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Sometimes the truth is not all it seems...
Sometimes a confession is just the beginning...  

Late one night a man walks into the luxurious home of disgraced banker Harry McNamara and his wife Julie. The man launches an unspeakably brutal attack on Harry as a horror-struck Julie watches, frozen by fear. It looks like Harry's many sins - corruption, greed, betrayal - have finally caught up with him.

An hour later the intruder, JP Carney, hands himself in, confessing to the assault. The police have a victim, a suspect in custody and an eye-witness account, but Julie remains troubled.

Has Carney's surrender really been driven by a guilty conscience or is this confession the first calculated move in a deadly game?

The most gripping psychological thriller of 2018. Perfect for fans of Then She Was Gone and The Good Daughter.

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
ISBN: 9781786488374
Number of pages: 432
Weight: 302 g
Dimensions: 197 x 129 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Fabulous... Clever, pacey, compulsive' - Sunday Mirror 

'Refreshing and... full of twists' - The Express 

'Spain's blackly comic touch pulls us through a brilliantly dark tale' - The Daily Mail 

'A brilliantly dark tale' - The Mail on Sunday 

'A clever and unusual premise... punchy and energetic... a brilliant hook and rapid-fire ride' - Irish Independent 

'Fresh, witty writing style... an eye for details make the characters instantly believable' - The Daily Mail 

'Brilliantly crafted... each piece of the puzzle is gradually put together and keeps you gripped until the end' - Prima 

'A scathing overview of the Celtic Tiger years... [a] vivid portrait of a fascinating monster' - Irish Times 

'A clever novel... gradually exposing a chilling history of dysfunctional families' - The Sunday Times 

'A dizzying tale of lives falling apart that has you addicted from the very first page. I found it impossible to put down, so desperate was I to get to the truth' - Michelle Frances, author of The Girlfriend 

'Enthralling - Spain dissects her characters' secrets with razor-sharp precision' - JP Delaney, author of The Girl Before

'Here is my confession: I've never read Jo Spain before but now I'll be buying all of her books. The Confession is brutal and brilliant' - Fiona Cummins, author of Rattle 

You may also be interested in...

Catch-22
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Twisted
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
An Unwanted Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The President is Missing
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Codename Villanelle
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Man Between
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
You
Added to basket
You
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Nine Perfect Strangers
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Long Night in Paris
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Ultimatum
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Joe Country
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
The Stranger Diaries
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Broken Ground
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Dark Sacred Night
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Lost Man
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback

“Clever”

What an absolutely outstanding debut! This book will have you gripped from page one and you won't want to put it down to the very last page!
This book is extremely clever especially when you find out on the very... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 74
Rob

“Tight plotting great characterization stylishly executed conclusion”

What a superb tightly plotted story that kept me reading from page 1 right to the smartly executed conclusion. JP(John Paul) Carney enters the home of rich Dublin socialites Harry McNamara and his beautiful wife... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 23

“Oh! Never heard of Jo Spain before...”

So I had never heard of Jo Spain before...this book was totally brilliant - I read it in only a couple of sittings!
Loved the characters, really keeps those pages turning long after you should have gone to sleep.... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 12

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.