Ts&Cs apply
The Confession (Paperback)
  • The Confession (Paperback)
zoom

The Confession (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 432 Pages
Published: 09/08/2018
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

Sometimes the truth is not all it seems...
Sometimes a confession is just the beginning...  

Late one night a man walks into the luxurious home of disgraced banker Harry McNamara and his wife Julie. The man launches an unspeakably brutal attack on Harry as a horror-struck Julie watches, frozen by fear. It looks like Harry's many sins - corruption, greed, betrayal - have finally caught up with him.

An hour later the intruder, JP Carney, hands himself in, confessing to the assault. The police have a victim, a suspect in custody and an eye-witness account, but Julie remains troubled.

Has Carney's surrender really been driven by a guilty conscience or is this confession the first calculated move in a deadly game?

The most gripping psychological thriller of 2018. Perfect for fans of Then She Was Gone and The Good Daughter.

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
ISBN: 9781786488374
Number of pages: 432
Weight: 298 g
Dimensions: 197 x 129 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Fabulous . . . Clever, pacey, compulsive - Sunday Mirror

Refreshing and... full of twists - The Express

Spain's blackly comic touch pulls us through a brilliantly dark tale - Daily Mail

A brilliantly dark tale - Mail on Sunday

A clever and unusual premise . . . punchy and energetic . . . a brilliant hook and rapid-fire ride - Irish Independent

Fresh, witty writing style . . . an eye for details make the characters instantly believable - Daily Mail

Brilliantly crafted . . . each piece of the puzzle is gradually put together and keeps you gripped until the end - Prima

A scathing overview of the Celtic Tiger years . . . [a] vivid portrait of a fascinating monster - Irish Times

This gripping novel is more of a whydunnit than a whodunnit - Best

A contender for the most arresting opening paragraph of the year . . . This is crime fiction for grown-ups, taking its time to explore the ins and outs of human psychology - Sunday Express

An intriguing Rubik's Cube of a book that kept me turning the pages to get to the truth. So well plotted and beautifully written. I absolutely loved it - Liz Nugent, author of Unravelling Oliver

A clever novel . . . gradually exposing a chilling history of dysfunctional families - Sunday Times

I can't praise The Confession enough. Brilliant writing, great story . . . a really cracking read - BA Paris, author of Behind Closed Doors and The Breakdown

A dizzying tale of lives falling apart that has you addicted from the very first page. I found it impossible to put down, so desperate was I to get to the truth - Michelle Frances, author of The Girlfriend

Enthralling - Spain dissects her characters' secrets with razor-sharp precision - JP Delaney, author of The Girl Before

Here is my confession: I've never read Jo Spain before but now I'll be buying all of her books. The Confession is brutal and brilliant - Fiona Cummins, author of Rattle

The Confession is jaw-dropping. Clever. Addictive. Beautifully drawn characters. Masterful storytelling - Chris Whitaker, author of Tall Oaks

Loved it! Fabulous characters, superbly written, twists, turns & ends with a punch - Amanda Jennings, author of In Her Wake

An absolute cracker of a book, compulsive, deviously plotted and intense - I will be recommending this to everyone - Elizabeth Haynes, author of Into the Darkest Corner

Jo Spain is such a talent. The Confession had me in its thrall from the first page, revealing the dark side of the Celtic Tiger - Sarah Ward, author of In Bitter Chill

I loved this twisty slice of domestic noir - Claire McGowan, author of Blood Tide

You may also be interested in...

The Raging Storm
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
In The Blink of An Eye
Added to basket
Killing Moon
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Secret Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
In Too Deep
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
Yellowface
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Strange Sally Diamond
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The List
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Stop Them Dead
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Trial
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Think Twice
Added to basket
£22.00   £11.00
Hardback
Birnam Wood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
None of This is True
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Penance
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
My Father's House
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

“Clever”

What an absolutely outstanding debut! This book will have you gripped from page one and you won't want to put it down to the very last page!
This book is extremely clever especially when you find out on the very... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 103

“Oh! Never heard of Jo Spain before...”

So I had never heard of Jo Spain before...this book was totally brilliant - I read it in only a couple of sittings!
Loved the characters, really keeps those pages turning long after you should have gone to sleep.... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 43
Rob

“Tight plotting great characterization stylishly executed conclusion”

What a superb tightly plotted story that kept me reading from page 1 right to the smartly executed conclusion. JP(John Paul) Carney enters the home of rich Dublin socialites Harry McNamara and his beautiful wife... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 43

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: