The Confectioner's Tale (Paperback)
  • The Confectioner's Tale (Paperback)
zoom

The Confectioner's Tale (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£12.99
Paperback 336 Pages / Published: 23/04/2015
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 15 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

At the famous Patisserie Clermont in Paris, 1909, a chance encounter with the owner's daughter has given one young man a glimpse into a life he never knew existed: of sweet cream and melted chocolate, golden caramel and powdered sugar, of pastry light as air.

But it is not just the art of confectionery that holds him captive, and soon a forbidden love affair begins.

Almost eighty years later, an academic discovers a hidden photograph of her grandfather as a young man with two people she has never seen before. Scrawled on the back of the picture are the words 'Forgive me'. Unable to resist the mystery behind it, she begins to unravel the story of two star-crossed lovers and one irrevocable betrayal.

'Delightful and delicious: a must read' Nina George, bestselling author of The Little Paris Bookshop

'Mouth-watering and mysterious . . . a compelling read' Leah Fleming, bestselling author of The Girl under the Olive Tree

Take a moment to savour a bittersweet love story that echoes through the decades - perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Santa Montefiore and Victoria Hislop.

Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd
ISBN: 9781784160722
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 236 g
Dimensions: 198 x 127 x 21 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Delightful and delicious: a must read * Nina George, bestselling author of The Little Paris Bookshop *
Mouth-watering and mysterious . . . a compelling read * Leah Fleming, bestselling author of The Postcard *
Sizzling forbidden love story set in 1900s Paris . . . four stars * Heat *
A heady mix of passion and betrayal set against the stunning backdrops of 1909 Paris and 1980s Cambridge. * The Lady *

You may also be interested in...

A Lady's Guide to Fortune-Hunting
Added to basket
Cunning Women
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Four Winds
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Essex Serpent
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
A Net for Small Fishes
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The House with the Golden Door
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Runaway Widow
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Nightingale
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Suspects
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Twin Crowns
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Last Night at the Telegraph Club
Added to basket
The Essex Serpent
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Twin Crowns
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

“Dual-time, romantic and mysterious”

The Confectioner's Tale is a story told in dual narrative, this does seem to be a very popular way of writing novels lately, and I do especially like the style. The combination of era and place is appealing and... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 48

“Secrets from the past”

Petra Stevenson is still mourning the loss of her beloved grandfather when she discovers that he kept secrets from her. An old photograph of her grandfather as a young man has the word ‘Clermont’ written on the back.... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 34

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.