The Conductors (Paperback)
  • The Conductors (Paperback)
zoom

The Conductors (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 432 Pages / Published: 04/03/2021
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

FILM RIGHTS NOW OPTIONED BY QUEEN LATIFAH
_________________________________

'An Underground Railroad - but with magic' P. Djeli Clark
'...a delightfully genre-bending debut' Tananarive Due
_________________________________
Meet Hetty Rhodes, a former conductor on the Underground Railroad who now uses her magic to solve crimes in her community in a post-Civil War world.

As an escaped slave, Hetty Rhodes helped dozens of people find their own freedom north using her wits and her magic. Now that the Civil War is over, Hetty and her husband, Benjy, still fight for their people by solving the murders and mysteries that the white authorities won't touch.

When they discover one of their friends brutally murdered in an alley, Hetty and Benjy mourn his loss by setting off to find answers. But the mystery of his death soon brings up more questions, more secrets, more hurt. To solve his death, they will have to not only face the ugly truths about the world but the ones about each other.

Perfect for fans of Victor LaValle and Zen Cho, The Conductors is a compelling debut by a fresh voice in fantasy fiction that will leave you longing for more.
_________________________________
'... a wholly original and thoroughly riveting story... an unforgettable debut' DEANNA REYBOURN, New York Times best-selling author of A Murderous Relation

Publisher: Cornerstone
ISBN: 9781529102079
Number of pages: 432
Weight: 298 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Community dynamics mixed with a magical alternate Reconstruction era mystery. The Conductors has all the elements I was looking for in a good story. * - Mary Robinette Kowal, Hugo Award-winning author of The Calculating Stars *
An Underground Railroad-but with magic. With compelling characters and wondrous worldbuilding, Glover weaves a tangled mystery of murder, spellwork, and freedom, amid the remnants of slavery's lingering memories. * - P. Djeli Clark, Nebula Award-winning author of Ring Shout *
The Conductors is a seamless blending of magic, mystery and history, creating power and wonder with its rarefied glimpse of Black life in the late-1800s. The Vigilance Society and the magic-wielding couple at the core of this story are a welcome addition to the growing chorus of voices in Black speculative fiction. Glover's worldbuilding, characters, and attention to historical detail create a delightfully genre-bending debut! * - Tananarive Due, American Book Award winner, author of Ghost Summer: Stories *
Nicole Glover blends historical detail and magical elements into an unforgettable debut. The Conductors is a wholly original and thoroughly riveting story. This is no doubt the first of many brilliant books to come. * - Deanna Raybourn, New York Times best-selling author of A Murderous Relation *
With The Conductors, Nicole Glover creates a fascinating world where even magic is segregated. She effortlessly weaves both the constellation based magical system and the real life struggles of being Black in post Civil War America. The characters lead by former Underground Railroad Conductors Hetty and Benjy Rhodes are as intriguing as the mystery. It's hard to believe this is Glover's first book. I found it as enchanting as one of Hetty's spells. * - Kellye Garrett, Anthony, Agatha and Lefty Award winning author of Hollywood Homicide and Hollywood Ending *
The Conductors is a conjured novel. Re-imagining a past that helps us navigate our present. It weaves a rich tapestry of history and magic to create a story of resilience and resistance through the power of black girl magic. It's the perfect book for our times. * Maurice Broaddus, author of Pimp My Airship *
The Conductors is a wildly inventive alternate history that combines compelling characters, a propulsive plot, and lots of intrigue. It is also radical as hell. Thought-provoking and powerful, Glover's novel is a must-read. * Cadwell Turnbull, author of The Lesson *
This novel is stuffed with juicy ideas- from subtle hints about Hetty's former life, to the lives she saved, to the clever way she uses astrological symbols to perform her magic. * SFX *

You may also be interested in...

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
To Paradise
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£18.99   £14.99
Hardback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Secret History
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Girl A
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Manningtree Witches
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
The Vanishing Half
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Magical story”

This is a luscious, beautifully told magical story. It is a book that needs to be read slowly so you just sit back, take your time and enjoy the story telling. The two main characters are quite complex, flawed but... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3
Whispering Stories

“This book is strong in both the historical fiction and detective genres”

“…A story is a living creature, and they need a personal touch to live on. You breathe in your woes, your loves, your troubles, and eventyally they become something new. They aren’t the books you love so much. Stories... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Stands out from them all”

I've read quite a few historical fiction novels about slavery and the Underground Railroad, but "The Conductors" stands out from them all. Yes, being a fantasy does help, but it's more than that. I... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.