The Conductors (Paperback)
  • The Conductors (Paperback)
zoom

The Conductors (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 432 Pages / Published: 04/03/2021
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

_________________________________

'An Underground Railroad - but with magic' P. Djeli Clark
'...a delightfully genre-bending debut' Tananarive Due
_________________________________
Meet Hetty Rhodes, a former conductor on the Underground Railroad who now uses her magic to solve crimes in her community in a post-Civil War world.

As an escaped slave, Hetty Rhodes helped dozens of people find their own freedom north using her wits and her magic. Now that the Civil War is over, Hetty and her husband, Benjy, still fight for their people by solving the murders and mysteries that the white authorities won't touch.

When they discover one of their friends brutally murdered in an alley, Hetty and Benjy mourn his loss by setting off to find answers. But the mystery of his death soon brings up more questions, more secrets, more hurt. To solve his death, they will have to not only face the ugly truths about the world but the ones about each other.

Perfect for fans of Victor LaValle and Zen Cho, The Conductors is a compelling debut by a fresh voice in fantasy fiction that will leave you longing for more.
_________________________________
'... a wholly original and thoroughly riveting story... an unforgettable debut' DEANNA REYBOURN, New York Times best-selling author of A Murderous Relation

Publisher: Cornerstone
ISBN: 9781529102079
Number of pages: 432
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Community dynamics mixed with a magical alternate Reconstruction era mystery. The Conductors has all the elements I was looking for in a good story. * - Mary Robinette Kowal, Hugo Award-winning author of The Calculating Stars *
An Underground Railroad-but with magic. With compelling characters and wondrous worldbuilding, Glover weaves a tangled mystery of murder, spellwork, and freedom, amid the remnants of slavery's lingering memories. * - P. Djeli Clark, Nebula Award-winning author of Ring Shout *
The Conductors is a seamless blending of magic, mystery and history, creating power and wonder with its rarefied glimpse of Black life in the late-1800s. The Vigilance Society and the magic-wielding couple at the core of this story are a welcome addition to the growing chorus of voices in Black speculative fiction. Glover's worldbuilding, characters, and attention to historical detail create a delightfully genre-bending debut! * - Tananarive Due, American Book Award winner, author of Ghost Summer: Stories *
Nicole Glover blends historical detail and magical elements into an unforgettable debut. The Conductors is a wholly original and thoroughly riveting story. This is no doubt the first of many brilliant books to come. * - Deanna Raybourn, New York Times best-selling author of A Murderous Relation *
With The Conductors, Nicole Glover creates a fascinating world where even magic is segregated. She effortlessly weaves both the constellation based magical system and the real life struggles of being Black in post Civil War America. The characters lead by former Underground Railroad Conductors Hetty and Benjy Rhodes are as intriguing as the mystery. It's hard to believe this is Glover's first book. I found it as enchanting as one of Hetty's spells. * - Kellye Garrett, Anthony, Agatha and Lefty Award winning author of Hollywood Homicide and Hollywood Ending *
The Conductors is a conjured novel. Re-imagining a past that helps us navigate our present. It weaves a rich tapestry of history and magic to create a story of resilience and resistance through the power of black girl magic. It's the perfect book for our times. * Maurice Broaddus, author of Pimp My Airship *
The Conductors is a wildly inventive alternate history that combines compelling characters, a propulsive plot, and lots of intrigue. It is also radical as hell. Thought-provoking and powerful, Glover's novel is a must-read. * Cadwell Turnbull, author of The Lesson *

You may also be interested in...

Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£14.99   £10.99
Hardback
The Dark Remains
Added to basket
Girl A
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Giver of Stars
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Single Thread
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Ghosts
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Troy
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Girl, Woman, Other
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Beekeeper of Aleppo
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£14.99   £11.99
Hardback
Such a Fun Age
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Troubled Blood
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Whispering Stories

“This book is strong in both the historical fiction and detective genres”

“…A story is a living creature, and they need a personal touch to live on. You breathe in your woes, your loves, your troubles, and eventyally they become something new. They aren’t the books you love so much. Stories... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.