The Complete MAUS (Paperback)
  • The Complete MAUS (Paperback)
zoom

The Complete MAUS (Paperback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£16.99
Paperback 296 Pages
Published: 02/10/2003
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

An undisputed masterpiece of the graphic novel form, representing Jews as mice and Nazis as cats, Spiegelman’s profoundly moving work traces his father’s harrowing experiences of Auschwitz and the challenges of adjusting to peacetime life after an all-consuming ordeal.

The Pulitzer Prize-winning Maus tells the story of Vladek Spiegelman, a Jewish survivor of Hitler's Europe, and his son, a cartoonist coming to terms with his father's story. Maus approaches the unspeakable through the diminutive. Its form, the cartoon (the Nazis are cats, the Jews mice), shocks us out of any lingering sense of familiarity and succeeds in 'drawing us closer to the bleak heart of the Holocaust' (The New York Times).

Maus is a haunting tale within a tale. Vladek's harrowing story of survival is woven into the author's account of his tortured relationship with his aging father. Against the backdrop of guilt brought by survival, they stage a normal life of small arguments and unhappy visits. This astonishing retelling of our century's grisliest news is a story of survival, not only of Vladek but of the children who survive even the survivors. Maus studies the bloody pawprints of history and tracks its meaning for all of us.

This combined, definitive edition includes Maus I: A Survivor's Tale and Maus II.

Art Spiegelman is a contributing editor and artist for the New Yorker. His drawings and prints have been exhibited in museums and galleries around the world. He won the Pulitzer Prize for Maus, and a Guggenheim fellowship. It was also nominated for the National Book Critics Award.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780141014081
Number of pages: 296
Weight: 700 g
Dimensions: 230 x 160 x 25 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

The first masterpiece in comic book history - New Yorker

One of the clichés about the Holocaust is that you can't imagine it - Spiegelman disproves this theory - Independent

A brutally moving work of art - Boston Globe

In the tradition of Aesop and Orwell, it serves to shock and impart powerful resonance to a well-documented subject. The artwork is so accomplished, forceful and moving - TimeOut

Spiegelman has turned the exuberant fantasy of comics inside out by giving us the most incredible fantasy in comics' history: something that actually occurred. Maus is terrifying not for its brutality, but for its tenderness and guilt - New Yorker

An epic story told in tiny pictures - New York Times

The most affecting and successful narrative ever done about the Holocaust - Wall Street Journal

Maus is a book that cannot be put down, truly, even to sleep...when you finish Maus, you are unhappy to have left that magical world and long for the sequel that will return you to it - Umberto Eco

A remarkable feat of documentary detail and novelistic vividness...an unfolding literary event - New York Times Book Review

The Pulitzer Prize-winning Maus tells the story of Vladek Spiegelman, a Jewish survivor of Hitler's Europe, and his son, a cartoonist coming to terms with his father's story. Maus approaches the unspeakable through the diminutive. Its form, the cartoon (the Nazis are cats, the Jews mice), shocks us out of any lingering sense of familiarity and succeeds in 'drawing us closer to the bleak heart of the Holocaust' - New York Times

A quiet triumph, moving and simple - impossible to describe accurately, and impossible to achieve in any medium but comics - Washington Post

All too infrequently, a book comes along that' s as daring as it is acclaimed. Art Spiegelman's Maus is just such a book - Esquire

A remarkable work, awesome in its conception and execution... at one and the same time a novel, a documentary, a memoir, and a comic book. Brilliant, just brilliant - Jules Feiffer

Maus is a masterpiece, and it's in the nature of such things to generate mysteries, and pose more questions than they answer. But if the notion of a canon means anything, Maus is there at the heart of it. Like all great stories, it tells us more about ourselves than we could ever suspect - Philip Pullman

Spiegelman's Maus changed comics forever. Comics now can be about anything - Alison Bechdel

Reading [his work] has been an amazing lesson in storytelling - Etgar Keret

It can be easy to forget how much of a game-changer Maus was. - Washington Post

You may also be interested in...

My Friend Dahmer
Added to basket
£13.99
Paperback
Plumdog
Added to basket
£18.99
Hardback
Becoming Unbecoming
Added to basket
Una
£14.99
Paperback
The Beatles Graphic
Added to basket
Pablo
Added to basket
£16.99
Paperback
Citizen 13660
Added to basket
£16.99
Paperback
Fun Home
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Unflattening
Added to basket
£21.95
Paperback
The Manga Guide to Biochemistry
Added to basket
Safe Area Gorazde
Added to basket
£18.99
Paperback
Embroideries
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Hyperbole and a Half
Added to basket
Granuaile: Queen of Storms
Added to basket
Jerusalem
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Black Project
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Hip Hop Family Tree Book 2
Added to basket

“the complete maus”

great book, such a moving book

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 105

“The Maus Review and Synopsis”

I believe that Maus was an extremely engaging story, with an in depth story line.
There was a relatable story unlike usual ones where there are facts about world
war II. A compelling love story with a various... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 100

“More than just a Maus”

I've known about this for quite awhile but never got around to reading it until it was recommended to me and now I find myself wondering why it took me so long to get around to it in the first place. This is book... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 91

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: