The Collected Autobiographies of Maya Angelou (Hardback)
  • The Collected Autobiographies of Maya Angelou (Hardback)

The Collected Autobiographies of Maya Angelou (Hardback)

1 Review Write your review
Hardback Published: 06/10/2005
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

Check Marketplace availability

When I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings was published to widespread acclaim in 1969, Maya Angelou garnered the attention of an international audience with the triumphs and tragedies of her childhood in the American South. This soul-baring memoir launched a six-book epic spanning the sweep of the author's incredible life. Dedicated fans and newcomers alike can follow the continually absorbing chronicle of Angelou's life: her formative childhood in Stamps, Arkansas; the birth of her son, Guy, at the end of World War II; her adventures travelling abroad with the famed cast of Porgy and Bess; her experience of living in a black expatriate 'colony' in Ghana; her intense involvement with the civil rights movement, including her association with Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and Malcolm X; and, finally, the beginning of her writing career. Angelou has chronicled her remarkable journey and inspired people of every generation and nationality to embrace life with commitment and passion.

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9781844081707

You may also be interested in...


A truly wonderful book about an amazing woman, I would reccomend to anyone.

Hardback edition
27th October 2010
Helpful? Upvote 3

Your review has been submitted successfully.

We would love to hear what you think of Waterstones. Why not review Waterstones on Trustpilot?

Review us on Trustpilot