The Closest I've Come (Hardback)
  • The Closest I've Come (Hardback)
zoom

The Closest I've Come (Hardback)

(author)
£12.99
Hardback 320 Pages / Published: 14/12/2017
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket

A Kirkus Best Book of 2017 * A New York Public Library Best Book of the Year * An ALA/YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Selection

Read the book Morris Award finalist Sonia Patel called "a brilliant, subtle debut," and Kirkus hailed as "heart-wrenching, funny, hopeful, and not-to-be-missed" in a starred review!

The Closest I've Come is a must-read from talented first-time author Fred Aceves, in the tradition of Walter Dean Myers.

Marcos Rivas yearns for love, a working cell phone, and maybe a pair of sneakers that aren't falling apart. But more than anything, Marcos wants to get out of Maesta, his hood, away from his indifferent mom and her abusive boyfriend-which seems impossible.

When Marcos is placed in a new after-school program, he meets Zach and Amy, whose friendship inspires Marcos to open up to his Maesta crew, too, and starts to think more about his future and what he has to fight for. Marcos ultimately learns that bravery isn't about acting tough and being macho; it's about being true to yourself.

The Closest I've Come is a story about traversing real and imagined boundaries, about discovering new things in the world, and about discovering yourself, too.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
ISBN: 9780062488534
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 396 g
Dimensions: 210 x 140 x 27 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"Aceves has written a remarkable debut novel....[E]very reader will enjoy Aceves's deft handling of this coming-of-age journey. The Closest I've Come will be a welcome addition to the growing cannon of quality urban young adult literature." -- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)
"A brilliant, subtle debut." -- Sonia Patel, author of Morris Award finalist Rani Patel in Full Effect and Jaya and Rasa: A Love Story
"Heart-wrenching, funny, hopeful, and not-to-be-missed." -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
"A story that will have readers cheering by the end. An inspirational read." -- Booklist
"Recommended for fans of Jason Reynolds and for readers who appreciate gritty and introspective realistic fiction with a sense of humor." -- School Library Journal
"[A] memorable, hard-hitting portrait of a teenager trying to shape his own destiny after being dealt a difficult hand." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)
"It takes about half a page of this debut to become convinced Aceves is an author to watch, but there's no point at which you'll want to put down his strongly voiced coming-of-age, perfect for fans of When I Was the Greatest." -- B&N Teen Blog
"A debut that's as stunning as it is powerful, Aceves' novel is a story is a complex story about family and friendships. Don't sleep on this one." -- Paste Magazine
"Effective, and there's a refreshing subversion of literary expectation...The accessible writing brings this story to a wide range of readers." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
"[E]xplores the nuances of class and ethnicity through the eyes of a hero that readers will love rooting for." -- Bookish.com

You may also be interested in...

The Worst Witch
Added to basket
£5.99   £4.49
Paperback
Tom Gates 15: What Monster?
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
The Trouble with Perfect
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
The Tales of Beedle the Bard
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback
Nevermoor: Nevermoor
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Dog Man 5: Lord of the Fleas
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Hardback
Tom Gates: Epic Adventure (kind of)
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
The Midnight Gang
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Ella on the Outside
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
What If It's Us
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Grandpa's Great Escape
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
The Truth Pixie
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Hardback
Dork Diaries: Birthday Drama!
Added to basket
The House With a Clock in Its Walls
Added to basket
Zog Christmas
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
P.S. I Still Love You
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.