The Clockmaker’s Wife (Paperback)
  • The Clockmaker’s Wife (Paperback)
zoom

The Clockmaker’s Wife (Paperback)

(author)
£10.99
Paperback 400 Pages
Published: 05/08/2021
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 2 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket

The world is at war. And time is running out…

London, 1940. Britain is gripped by the terror of the Blitz, forcing Nell Spelman to flee the capital with her young daughter – leaving behind her husband, Arthur, the clockmaker who keeps Big Ben chiming.

When Arthur disappears, Nell is desperate to find him. But her search will lead her into far darker places than she ever imagined…

New York, Present Day. When Ellie discovers a beautiful watch that had once belonged to a grandmother she never knew, she becomes determined to find out what happened to her. But as she pieces together the fragments of her grandmother’s life, she begins to wonder if the past is better left forgotten…

A powerful and unforgettable tale of fierce love, impossible choices and a moment that changes the world forever, perfect for fans of Fiona Valpy and Suzanne Kelman.

Readers love Daisy Wood:

'A ticking time-bomb of intrigue, wrapped around stark but rich descriptions of the Blitz. An unforgettable wartime debut.' Mandy Robotham, internationally bestselling author of The Berlin Girl

‘I couldn’t put it down. My favourite kind of historical fiction.’ Reviewer

‘Wonderful.’ Reviewer

‘Brilliantly captures the essence of 1940s England. Highly recommended!’ Reviewer

Set between WWII and today, and America and England, I totally loved this outstandingly amazing book. Five stars!’ Reviewer

‘Daisy Wood skillfully navigates between two timelines, and her descriptions of the war are really masterful.’ Reviewer

‘The perfect blend of historical fiction and espionage.’ Reviewer

‘Beautifully written… I highly recommend this treasure!’ Reviewer

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008402303
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 270 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 25 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'A ticking time-bomb of intrigue, wrapped around stark but rich descriptions of the Blitz. An unforgettable wartime debut.' Mandy Robotham, internationally bestselling author of The Berlin Girl ‘I couldn’t put it down. My favourite kind of historical fiction.’ Reviewer ‘Wonderful.’ Reviewer ‘Brilliantly captures the essence of 1940s England. Highly recommended!’ Reviewer Set between WWII and today, and America and England, I totally loved this outstandingly amazing book. Five stars!’ Reviewer ‘Daisy Wood skillfully navigates between two timelines, and her descriptions of the war are really masterful.’ Reviewer ‘The perfect blend of historical fiction and espionage.’ Reviewer ‘Beautifully written… I highly recommend this treasure!’ Reviewer

You may also be interested in...

Tai-Pan
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
A Place of Greater Safety
Added to basket
An Instance of the Fingerpost
Added to basket
The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket
Master and Commander
Added to basket
Heresy
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Pompeii
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Spring Snow
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Atonement
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Place Called Winter
Added to basket
Dissolution
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Captain Corelli's Mandolin
Added to basket
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
American Pastoral
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback

“A beautiful, powerful story”

This is exactly the sort of historical fiction novel that I am typically drawn to….dual timelines, World War II, and a granddaughter interested in exploring her family’s past.

The story opens in London in 1939. Nell... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Excellent novel”

This novel is et in 2 countries and times.
First is in 1940 Britain and other present time in New York
It is based on a young girl going to London to try to figure out the mystery of her grandmother’s death and to... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Fantastic read”

"War's coming, isn't it? You want me to see the city before everything changes."

Beginning in London in 1939, and set primarily in 1940 and the present day, The Clockmaker's Wife is a... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: