The Cliff House (Hardback)
  • The Cliff House (Hardback)
zoom

The Cliff House (Hardback)

(author)
£18.99
Hardback 352 Pages
Published: 28/07/2022
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Perfect for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware, Brookmyre's addictive closed-circle mystery places a party of hen-do revellers on a remote island at the mercy of a shadowy kidnapper.

One hen weekend, seven secrets... but only one worth killing for.

Jen's hen party is going to be out of control. She's rented a luxury getaway on its own private island. The helicopter won't be back for seventy-two hours. They are alone. They think.

As well as Jen, there's the pop diva and the estranged ex-bandmate, the tennis pro and the fashion guru, the embittered ex-sister-in-law and the mouthy future sister-in-law. It's a combustible cocktail, one that takes little time to ignite, and in the midst of the drunken chaos, one of them disappears. Then a message tells them that unless someone confesses her terrible secret to the others, their missing friend will be killed.

Problem is, everybody has a secret. And nobody wants to tell.

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9781408712177
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 589 g
Dimensions: 244 x 158 x 34 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Chris Brookmyre is a genius, every new book of his is a cause for celebration - Richard Osman

There are dozens of novels based on Agatha Christie's And Then There Were None, but Christopher Brookmyre's ingenious take is by far the best I have read. He makes you feel for and fear each character. He keeps you guessing until the very end - after an avalanche of revelations and twists. - The Times (Book of the Month)

Brookmyre is always a class act and it is a pleasure to be back in the hands of one of our best crime writers with this clever, propulsive thriller with a whole lot of heart - Observer

Tightly plotted and a lot of fun, this is perfect poolside reading - Guardian

A suspenseful and atmospheric thriller - The Herald

Brookmyre's familiar sardonic prose is pleasingly in place - Financial Times

Irresistibly thrilling, Brookmyre proves he's a master of suspense - Sun

Among his best yet . . . a killer twist and an upbeat conclusion - Sunday Post

Brookmyre's psychological acuity that sets him apart from many other thriller writers . . . It's as if he has climbed like a magician inside our heads. - The Lady

Brookmyre is an experienced and skilful hand who drives his story along at a gallop - The Scotsman

Brookmyre orchestrates the proceedings with assurance and a deep sense of mischief. Wonderfully entertaining - Crime Time

A deliciously twisting, chilling read - Woman's Own

His wit and sheer storytelling skill make it seem wonderfully fresh - Express

You know you're in experienced hands from the off... A great read for the holidays - The List

Brookmyre has great fun with his Agatha Christie homage - Irish Times

Brookmyre's wit and storytelling skills invigorate - Sunday Express

Irresistibly thrilling, Brookmyre proves he's a master of suspense - Irish Sun

It's only August but it has me thinking of my books of the year already - Crime Thriller Lover (blog)

You may also be interested in...

Killing Moon
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
No One Saw a Thing
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Damascus Station
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
The Murder Game
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
In Too Deep
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
Birnam Wood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Silent Patient
Added to basket
The Housemaid
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Running Grave
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback
In The Blink of An Eye
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Betrayal
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Strange Sally Diamond
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Past Lying
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback

“Not a predictable locked room story!”

A little slow to build up but worth the wait. Very complicated story with complex connections all the way through. As with a lot of contemporary fiction the plot was a little far fetched but made for an intriguing... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 23

“Fresh contemporary crime, classic Brookmyre”

The Cliff House is a multi-POV whodunit isolated-group thriller (mpovwigt for short?). It immediately brought to mind both And Then There Were None, and the much more recent Guest List by Lucy Foley, and whilst these... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 13

“The Cliff House”

Jen is getting married and is having her hen do on a private island away from the madness of work etc. They will be on the island for 3 nights and have arrived by helicopter which makes the hen party more exciting.... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 12

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: