Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
The Chill of Night (Paperback)
  • The Chill of Night (Paperback)
zoom

The Chill of Night (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 432 Pages / Published: 29/03/2012
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
The Chill of Night is James Hayman's second instalment in his McCabe and Savage series. A frozen corpse means a big headache for Detective Michael McCabe Lainie Goff thinks she has it all. A glamorous young Portland attorney with the brains and looks to match her ambitions, she's on the fast-track to a partnership. Until one cold winter night she discovers that her belief in her ability to handle any situation was misplaced. Now she's just a frozen corpse in the boot of a car at the end of Portland Fish Pier. And a problem for homicide detective Michael McCabe. Luckily for McCabe, there's a witness. A mentally disturbed young woman named Abby Quinn saw what happened to Lainie. Unfortunately, Abby mysteriously goes missing the very same night. With a victim who'd known more than her share of bad guys, a list of suspects that seems to get longer and longer and his only witness missing, McCabe has got his work cut out. But it's only a matter of time before the killer strikes again . . . Following the success of the first instalment The Cutting, The Chill of Night continues to follow Detective McCabe as he solves Portland's crimes. Fans of Harlan Coben and Michael Connelly will be hooked. Praise for James Hayman: 'A stunning debut that gripped me from first page to last. A thriller of a thriller!' Tess Gerritsen 'Supremely accomplished storytelling' Daily Mail 'Taut, suspenseful . . . every bit as dark and sinister as Lehane and Connelly' Richard Montanari James Hayman spent more than twenty years as a senior creative director at one of New York's largest advertising agencies. He and his wife now live in Portland, Maine. This is his third novel.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780141047300
Number of pages: 432
Weight: 288 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A stunning debut that gripped me from first page to last. A thriller of a thriller! * Tess Gerritsen *
A clever and suspenseful thriller * Boston Globe Pick of the Week *
McCabe is a formidable detective tested to the limit in Hayman's atmospheric puzzler * Publishers Weekly *
Packs a terrific punch and comes complete with pace and panache . . . Hayman doesn't write for the faint-hearted . . . Taut, deft and with a delicate sense of place, this is supremely accomplished storytelling * Daily Mail *

You may also be interested in...

The Silent Companions
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Thirteen
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Missing Girl
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Dead If You Don't
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Chalk Man
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
London Rules
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Our House
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Column of Fire
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Elevation
Added to basket
£14.99   £11.99
Hardback
The Temptation of Forgiveness
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Macbeth
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Greeks Bearing Gifts
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Rooster Bar
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Legacy of Spies
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Origin
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.