Click & Collect
from 2 Hours*
Last Christmas
delivery dates
Free UK Standard Delivery On all orders over £25 Order in time for Christmas 16th December by 3pm 2nd Class |
19th December by 3pm 1st Class
Free Click & Collect to shops From 2 hours after you order*
The Children's Hour (Hardback)
  • The Children's Hour (Hardback)
zoom

The Children's Hour (Hardback)

(author)
£10.00
Hardback 368 Pages / Published: 04/08/2003
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
A glorious novel about half- forgotten memories and childhood secrets in the tradition of Rosamunde Pilcher Nest and Mina still live at Ottercombe, their beautiful old rambling childhood home in the depths of Devon. They came to the house before the war, when as small children they played with their sisters and brothers in the gardens and the woods and the nearby beach while their mother read them stories and their father visited at weekends. It was, in retrospect, an idyllic time, when tragedy seemed far distant. Now they welcome their children and grandchildren, and especially young Lyddie, their niece, who lives in Cornwall with her handsome husband Liam. But when their sister Georgie, now somewhat frail and forgetful, comes to stay with them, aspects of their past start to revisit them. For Georgie knows all their secrets, secrets which she wants to share...

Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd
ISBN: 9780593051191
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 614 g
Dimensions: 234 x 156 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A novel which reminded me of L P Hartley's Eustace and Hilda trilogy. It is all about forgotten memories and secrets of childhood set in a beautiful old house in Devon. Both Nest and Mina, now elderly, live there still, but the children have flown the coop. They welcome them back for visits with their offspring, especially Lyddie, their niece who lives in Cornwall with her husband Liam. Then their sister Georgie comes for an extended stay: she is frail and malicious, with a failing memory, and starts to cause trouble. It is a warm novel with echoes of the past and an endearing simplicity. It makes for easy reading.

You may also be interested in...

Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
How to Kill Your Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Moons of Maali Almeida
Added to basket
A Fatal Crossing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Klara and the Sun
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Lessons in Chemistry
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Snow Country
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Murder On The Christmas Express
Added to basket
The Bullet That Missed
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Silverview
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
It Starts With Us
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
Oh William!
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Island of Missing Trees
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Ink Black Heart
Added to basket
£25.00   £12.50
Hardback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.