The Child Thief (Paperback)
  • The Child Thief (Paperback)
zoom

The Child Thief (Paperback)

(author)
7 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 09/05/2013
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

In the snow, death is not the coldest thing waiting for you...

From out of the whiteness, a dark figure comes...

December, 1930, Ukraine. After the horrors of war, Luka wants a quiet life with his family. His village has, so far, remained hidden from the advancing Soviet brutality - but everything changes the day a stranger arrives, pulling a sled bearing a terrible cargo: the bodies of two children. When the villagers' fear turns deadly, they think they have saved themselves. And then a little girl vanishes.

Luka is the only man with the skills to find the stolen child in these frozen lands. And though his toughest enemy is the man he tracks through the harsh winter landscape, his strongest bond is a promise to his family back home...

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781780222868
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 314 g
Dimensions: 197 x 130 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Smith succeeds in creating a narrative that is both an engrossing thriller and the story of a man struggling in the grip of historical events that he only partially understands. * SUNDAY TIMES *
This is a pursuit thriller of the highest quality, reminiscent of the classic of the genre, Geoffrey Household's Rogue Male. * IRISH INDEPENDENT *
... a straightforward, beautifully written thriller about surviving hardships against all odds with honor and humanity. * NEW YORK JOURNAL OF BOOKS *
The tone is dark and disturbing in this tightly written story, tension mounting until the unexpected ending. Sure to appeal to fans of David Benioff and Tom Rob Smith * THE BOOKBITCH *
A terrific book with an original setting ... [it] works both as a compelling thriller, in which readers are drawn into Luka's confrontation with the mysterious child thief, and as the story of one man entangled in historical events larger than his personal battle against a psychopathic murderer * BBC HISTORY MAGAZINE *
Smith is a talented writer who incorporates the forbidding landscape of Ukraine as a central character in the cat-and-mouse chase ... the well-constructed plot is nicely complemented by Smith's adept turn of phrase * SUNDAY BUSINESS POST *
Atmospheric pursuit thriller set in 1930s Ukraine in which war veteran Luka stalks his niece's psychopathic kidnapper across frozen terrain. * BIG ISSUE IN THE NORTH *

You may also be interested in...

Thirteen
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The People vs. Alex Cross
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Sleeping in the Ground
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
End Game
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Midnight Line
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Origin
Added to basket
£7.99   £3.99
Paperback
The Chalk Man
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Sunburn
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Sharp Objects
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Do Not Disturb
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Couple Next Door
Added to basket
The Silent Companions
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Girl Before
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Snap
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Y is for Yesterday
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“A Creepy read”

This is my kind of book. It starts with a tense situation and keeps increasing the tension. Set against a background of suspicion and mistrust you can almost feel the desperation of the main character. Although not a... More

Paperback edition
15th February 2012
Helpful? Upvote 11

“Thin Line Between Good and Evil”

I must confess that mixed feelings when I finished this book. It was a good read, but an intensely disturbing one; take the worst (I hope) excesses of Russian Communism and throw in a war-damaged child-abuser playing... More

Paperback edition
22nd February 2012
Helpful? Upvote 10

“Definitely worth reading”

Reading the book synopsis you may be forgiven for thinking that this is going to be another gloomy story about war torn Russia in the middle of winter. But not so. Yes it’s a tale of an ex-soldier now a farmer, his... More

Paperback edition
19th February 2012
Helpful? Upvote 9

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.