The Challenges of a King - The Road to Hastings 1 (Paperback)
  • The Challenges of a King - The Road to Hastings 1 (Paperback)
zoom

The Challenges of a King - The Road to Hastings 1 (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 11/11/2021
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

'Excellent' Stewart Binns, author of the Making of England series

The fight for England began long before 1066...

AD 1045. Godwin of Wessex, one of the most powerful earls in the country, prepares for the marriage of his daughter to King Edward of England. The mood is jubilant, his family's relationship with the Crown secured through matrimony. But one man seeks to undermine him at every opportunity.

French-born Bishop of London, Robert of Jumieges, has the ear of the king. As a trusted adviser, his position is one of power and privilege, and he wields it to gain ever-greater influence over the English Crown for his kinsmen in Normandy, at Godwin's expense.

As the bishop's control increases, the king's relationship with the House of Godwin frays until, eventually, it breaks down completely. With civil war looming, Godwin fights to pull England back from the brink. But with the king under Norman influence, it could be too little, too late.

The Challenges of a King is the first book in a thrilling new series from K. M. Ashman exploring the politics, promises and intrigue that led three men to contest the throne in 1066, and to the final successful invasion of England. Perfect for fans of Conn Iggulden and Bernard Cornwell.

Praise for The Challenges of a King

'The Challenges of a King is an excellent read. The historical accuracy tied to a fictional account is highly commendable and the narrative moves along at a gripping pace. The dialogue is sharp and authentic and the story is told clearly and concisely. I highly recommend the book to anyone who loves historical fiction' Stewart Binns, author of the Making of England series

Publisher: Canelo
ISBN: 9781800323643
Number of pages: 352
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 21 mm

You may also be interested in...

Zorro
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Burmese Days
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Sharpe's Havoc
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Fortune of War
Added to basket
Sharpe's Fortress
Added to basket
The Iron King
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
King Solomon's Mines
Added to basket
The Letter of Marque
Added to basket
Sharpe's Prey
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Sharpe's Eagle
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Sharpe's Rifles
Added to basket
The Mauritius Command
Added to basket
Black Flag
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Sharpe's Trafalgar
Added to basket
Sharpe's Triumph
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.