Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
The Cat on the Mat is Flat (Paperback)
  • The Cat on the Mat is Flat (Paperback)
zoom

The Cat on the Mat is Flat (Paperback)

(author), (illustrator)
£4.99
Paperback 176 Pages / Published: 06/06/2008
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

There's a rat with a bat and a very flat cat

and a frog in a bog with a jet-rocket log,

but the duck in the truck might just SUCK THEM ALL UP!

Crash! Bang! Pow! Kersplack!

This book will bring on a giggle attack!

The Cat on the Mat is Flat by Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton is a collection of utterly nonsensical, totally irreverent rhymes. Dr Seuss meets Revolting Rhymes - perfect for reading aloud and learning to read.

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9780330456364
Number of pages: 176
Weight: 152 g
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 11 mm
Edition: Unabridged edition


MEDIA REVIEWS
Praise for "The Cat on the Mat is Flat":


"Imagine the outcome if Dr. Seuss, Dav Pilkey, and Lane Smith were locked in a room until they came up with a book for beginning or reluctant readers. These nine rhyming stories have action galore, plenty of dialogue, and ample pen-and-ink illustrations, all wrapped up in humor . . . Even young people who are struggling to get the hang of reading may happily handle all 176 crazy pages." --"School Library Journal"


"Griffiths's innovative book for beginning readers collects nine short, intentionally silly snippets propelled by kid-pleasing, tongue-tripping verse . . . Denton's edgy, stick-figure-filled sketches enhance the zaniness factor and the offbeat, ironic humor." --"Publishers Weekly"


"Take one part Dr. Seuss, one part Edward Lear, place in a blender with a dash of Dav Pilkey and a bit of Cartoon Network juice . . . meant to be read as pure joy. It's a piece of candy eaten in secret between meals." --The Excelsior File (blog)


"Definitely not your parents' easy reader, but perfect for fans of Lane Smith's "Happy Hockey Family,"" --"Kirkus Reviews"


"This collection of stories is fun albeit with a touch of mayhem . . . This is a good book for beginning readers, in the same vein as "The Cat in the Hat" and "The Cat in the Hat Comes Back," It will likely spark a new rhyming nation of happy youngsters, some of whom will grow up to write their generation's outrageously funny advertising jingles . . . Any beginning reader will find it charmingly slapstick and fun." --Armchair Interviews


Praise for "The Cat on the Mat is Flat":

"Imagine the outcome if Dr. Seuss, Dav Pilkey, and Lane Smith were locked in a room until they came up with a book for beginning or reluctant readers. These nine rhyming stories have action galore, plenty of dialogue, and ample pen-and-ink illustrations, all wrapped up in humor . . . Even young people who are struggling to get the hang of reading may happily handle all 176 crazy pages." --"School Library Journal"

"Griffiths's innovative book for beginning readers collects nine short, intentionally silly snippets propelled by kid-pleasing, tongue-tripping verse . . . Denton's edgy, stick-figure-filled sketches enhance the zaniness factor and the offbeat, ironic humor." --"Publishers Weekly"

"Take one part Dr. Seuss, one part Edward Lear, place in a blender with a dash of Dav Pilkey and a bit of Cartoon Network juice . . . meant to be read as pure joy. It's a piece of candy eaten in secret between meals." --The Excelsior File (blog)

"Definitely not your parents' easy reader, but perfect for fans of Lane Smith's "Happy Hockey Family,"" --"Kirkus Reviews"

"This collection of stories is fun albeit with a touch of mayhem . . . This is a good book for beginning readers, in the same vein as "The Cat in the Hat" and "The Cat in the Hat Comes Back," It will likely spark a new rhyming nation of happy youngsters, some of whom will grow up to write their generation's outrageously funny advertising jingles . . . Any beginning reader will find it charmingly slapstick and fun." --Armchair Interviews

You may also be interested in...

Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes...
Added to basket
Baa, Baa, Black Sheep!
Added to basket
Incey Wincey Spider
Added to basket
£3.99
Board book
The Polar Pack
Added to basket
£4.99
Board book
Fish Dream of Trees
Added to basket
Phonics
Added to basket
£4.79
Paperback
My Favourite Bedtime Rhymes
Added to basket
£2.99
Hardback
My Favourite Nursery Rhymes
Added to basket
£2.99
Hardback
Nursery Rhyme Songbook
Added to basket
There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Fly
Added to basket
Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.