The Canary Keeper (Paperback)
  • The Canary Keeper (Paperback)
zoom

The Canary Keeper (Paperback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 06/02/2020
  • 5+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'Historical fiction at its very best' ELLY GRIFFITHS.

A Times Historical Fiction Book of the Month.

They will see me hang for this.
London, 1855. In the grey mist of the early morning a body is dumped on the shore of the Thames by a boatman in a metal canoe. Talk soon spreads of the killer and his striking accomplice: a young widow in mourning dress.

Birdie Quinn's sleeplessness led her to the river that morning. She has always been wilful, haughty, different... but is she a murderess?

To clear her name, she must retrace the dead man's footsteps to Orkney and the far north. A dangerous journey for a woman alone, but one she must make to save her life.

This gripping, richly layered historical thriller is perfect for fans of The Familiars, The House Between Tides and The Confessions of Franny Langton.

'Historical fiction at its very best. Mesmerising setting, fantastic characters and a fascinating insight into a ruthless trade' ELLY GRIFFITHS.

'What a joy! Reads like a classic nineteenth-century mystery with a twist, richly dark and full of gaslit menace' LESLEY THOMSON.

'Unearths startling truths about death and corruption in the transatlantic fur trade' THE TIMES.

'A top quality piece of historical fiction' iSCOT MAGAZINE.

Publisher: Head of Zeus
ISBN: 9781786690609
Number of pages: 384
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
'Historical fiction at its very best. Mesmerising setting, fantastic characters and a fascinating insight into a ruthless trade' -- Elly Griffiths
'Carson's story comes into its own as the action moves to Scotland where Birdie begins to unearth startling truths about death and corruption in the transatlantic fur trade' * Sunday Times *
'Gripping ... A top quality piece of historical fiction' * iScotland *
'What a joy. The Canary Keeper reads like a classic nineteenth-century mystery with a twist, richly dark and full of gaslit menace' -- Lesley Thomson
'A gothic tale at its best' * Historical Novel Society *
'Carson once again demonstrates her intuitive and precise approach to scene setting, and as we journey with Birdie to the remote reaches of Scotland, as she flees a trumped up murder charge ... Highly recommended' * Raven Crime Reads *
'An almost classic 19th-century mystery with a twist, meaty, dark, full of gaslit menace and beautifully written ... An exhilarating story and marks Carson as an author to keep an eye on for the future' * Crime Review Blog *

You may also be interested in...

The Way of All Flesh
Added to basket
Edge of the Grave
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Edge of the Grave
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Ashes of London
Added to basket
The Devil and the Dark Water
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Corruption of Blood
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket
Slaughter in the Sapperton Tunnel
Added to basket
People of Abandoned Character
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Nothing Ventured
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Turn a Blind Eye
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Killings at Kingfisher Hill
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Fine Art of Invisible Detection
Added to basket
Once Upon a River
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Art of Dying
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Raven88

“Highly recommended historical fiction...”

A definite change of direction and style from one of my favourite authors, and despite not being a massive reader of historical crime fiction, I enjoyed this book very much indeed. The story traverses between 19th... More

Hardback edition
4 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 21

“Fabulous!”

The Canary Keeper is an atmospheric thriller set in Victorian London and the Orkney Isles. It's beautifully written with strong female characters.
Fabulous!

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 15

“Historical crime mystery”

A wonderfully atmospheric historical mystery that pulls you in and refuses to let go. From the grim claustrophobic London docks, to the freah salty air of Orkney, the story is intricately plotted and a pure pleasure... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 14

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.