The Canary Keeper (Paperback)
  • The Canary Keeper (Paperback)
zoom

The Canary Keeper (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 01/02/2020
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

'What a joy! Reads like a classic nineteenth-century mystery with a twist, richly dark and full of gaslit menace' LESLEY THOMSON.

They will see me hang for this.
London, 1855. In the grey mist of the early morning a body is dumped on the shore of the Thames by a boatman in a metal canoe. The city is soon alive with talk of the foreign killer and his striking accomplice: a young woman dressed in widow's weeds.

Branna 'Birdie' Quinn's sleeplessness led her to the river that morning, but was it only thoughts of her drowned husband that kept her awake? She has always been wilful, haughty, different... but is she a murderess?

To clear her name, Birdie must retrace the dead man's footsteps to Orkney and the far north. A dangerous journey for a woman alone, but one she must make in order to save her neck from the hangman's noose.

This gripping, richly layered historical thriller is perfect for fans of The Familiars, The House Between Tides and The Confessions of Franny Langton.

Reviews for Clare Carson:
'Superb storytelling, clever and convoluted plotting, and a wonderful sense of time and place' CRIME REVIEW.

'Meaty, beautifully written and original' IRISH INDEPENDENT.

'Original and absorbing' LITERARY REVIEW.

Publisher: Head of Zeus
ISBN: 9781786690609
Number of pages: 384
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
'What a joy. The Canary Keeper reads like a classic nineteenth-century mystery with a twist, richly dark and full of gaslit menace' Lesley Thomson.
'Carson's story comes into its own as the action moves to Scotland where Birdie begins to unearth startling truths about death and corruption in the transatlantic fur trade' Sunday Times.

You may also be interested in...

Sovereign
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Dark Fire
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Axeman's Jazz
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Confessions of Frannie Langton
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Clockmaker's Daughter
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Points of Danger
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Way of All Flesh
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The House Across the Street
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Once Upon a River
Added to basket
Smoke and Ashes
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Doll Factory
Added to basket
The Ghost Tree
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Ashes of London
Added to basket
The House on the Edge of the Cliff
Added to basket
The Fatherland Files
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.