• Sign In / Register
  • Help
  • Basket0
The Cake the Wolf and the Witch (Paperback)
  • The Cake the Wolf and the Witch (Paperback)
zoom

The Cake the Wolf and the Witch (Paperback)

(author)
£6.99
Paperback 192 Pages / Published: 02/07/2015
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Max doesn't believe in happy endings. He doesn't even like stories. So when he finds himself whisked away in a giant cake to The Land of Ever After, Max is NOT impressed.

But the people of Ever After are in trouble, and they need Max's help.

Will Max agree to go on a dangerous quest to save their world? And if he doesn't, how will he and his brand new brother and sister ever get home?

A mixed-up and fresh take on the fairy tale, with a sprinkle of Jacqueline Wilson and Liz Kessler, and perfect for fans of Enid Blyton's The Magic Faraway Tree.

'Endlessly inventive' - Piers Torday, award-winning author of The Last Wild.

Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
ISBN: 9781444015607
Number of pages: 192
Weight: 233 g
Dimensions: 198 x 131 x 18 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Mischief, make believe and marbles galore! Endlessly inventive. * PIERS TORDAY *
This is one of the best books I have read -- Lucy Crowley, Ballinadee National School * Evening Echo (Cork) *
Delighted by #TheCakeTheWolfTheWitch, #Sondheim for 7+. A magical quest with heart and spark. * Children's book reviewer, Amanda Craig on Twitter *
Through all the fantasticalness of the story, the character of Max and his step-siblings remain very much grounded in reality, and this makes this book a complete winner. With illustrations by the wonderful Tony Ross (of Horrid Henry fame), this is the summer's must-read for children aged 7+. * Minerva Reads *
Fast paced funny and touching...It's a story that is both funny and exciting, and it'll make you think, too, without being in any way sappy. Make sure you don't miss it. * The Bookbag *
[FOR OPAL MOONBABY] Now - I want you to remember the name of Opal Moonbaby - she's a brilliant comic creation ... Opal sparkles and she's totally original. I lovedher. And Maudie Smith gives us a great story too. She's pitch-perfect on the way that girls in this age group act. -- Sue Magee * THE BOOKBAG *
[FOR OPAL MOONBABY] A touching story deliciously tinged with magic. -- Julia Eccleshare * LOVEREADING4KIDS *
[FOR OPAL MOONBABY] Opal Moonbaby really does seem like a classic novel. It's exactly the sort of book I would have devoured as a young girl and it really did have a similar style and tone as some of my old favourites ... Maudie Smith is a great new talent in the world of middle grade fiction and I'll certainly be looking out for more of her work in future. * WRITING FROM THE TUB *
[FOR OPAL MOONBABY] This heart-warming tale ... will appeal to those who like a little magic in their lives. * CAROUSEL *

You may also be interested in...

Bad Dad
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
Release
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The House with Chicken Legs
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Where the World Ends
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Children of Blood and Bone
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Hate U Give
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Midnight Gang
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Nevermoor: Nevermoor
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Kid Normal and the Rogue Heroes
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two
Added to basket
My Mum Tracy Beaker
Added to basket
Dork Diaries: Crush Catastrophe
Added to basket
Midnight
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Added to basket
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda
Added to basket

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.