The Cabinet (Paperback)
  • The Cabinet (Paperback)
zoom

The Cabinet (Paperback)

(author), (translator)
£9.99
Paperback 400 Pages
Published: 12/10/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 48 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Winner of the Munhakdongne Novel Award, South Korea's most prestigious literary prize Cabinet 13 looks exactly like any normal filing cabinet. Except this cabinet is filled with files on the 'symptomers', people whose weird abilities and bizarre experiences might just mark the emergence of a new species. But to Mr Kong, the harried office worker who spends his days looking after the cabinet, the symptomers are just a headache; from the woman whose doppelganger broke up with her boyfriend, to the man with a ginkgo tree growing from his fingertip. And then there's that guy who won't stop calling, asking to be turned into a cat... A richly funny and fantastical novel about the strangeness at the heart of even the most ordinary lives, from one of South Korea's most acclaimed novelists. Translated by Sean Lin Halbert File Under: Fiction [ 12,000 Cans of Beer | Memory Mosaicers | Will Execution Inc. | Monkey of All Bombs ]

Publisher: Watkins Media Limited
ISBN: 9780857669179
Number of pages: 400
Dimensions: 216 x 135 mm
Edition: New edition


MEDIA REVIEWS
"[A] brilliant mosaic novel...These stories straddle the lines between science fiction, fantasy, fairy tale, and acute reality."
"Un-su Kim is a tremendous writer"
"Showcases his sly, surreal, dark humor about all the ways humans are, well, not particularly human."
"This charming and fantastical book is sure to introduce Kim to a whole new legion of weird fiction fans, ideal for readers of Han Kang's The Vegetarian and the works of Haruki Murakami."
"Kim deftly juggles both macro-level and micro-level ideas about social roles, purpose, and personal narrative."
"What begins as a rather whimsical set of stories turns into a much darker novel, raising issues of difference and acceptance, what people must do to survive, and what is truly monstrous."
"Surprising and enchanting"
"comic, heartbreaking and terrifying."

You may also be interested in...

The Leviathan
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Atlas Six
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Ninth House
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Dune
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Holly
Added to basket
£25.00   £12.50
Hardback
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
The Atlas Paradox
Added to basket
£18.99   £9.49
Hardback
Medusa
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Venom Dark and Sweet
Added to basket
Stone Blind
Added to basket
£18.99   £16.99
Hardback
Godkiller
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
A Magic Steeped In Poison
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Hell Bent
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
The Poppy War
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Under the Whispering Door
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Priory of the Orange Tree
Added to basket

“Refreshingly different”

Goodness what a difficult book to describe and review, let alone decide if I enjoyed it! It's crazy and surreal yet at its heart is a discussion about humanity and difference and I think I really enjoyed it.... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“The cover's great!”

This book is badly written, boring, and even annoying!
I was excited to start reading "The Cabinet" - it's described on the cover as "a richly funny and fantastical novel..", and as... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“A curious cabinet of chimera”

Lowly lab assistant, Kong Deok-geun, happens across the secret files belonging to his employer, Professor Kwon. The files are housed in Cabinet 13, and hold details on symptomers, that is, individuals who exhibit... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.