The Bus on Thursday (Paperback)
  • The Bus on Thursday (Paperback)
zoom

The Bus on Thursday (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 272 Pages / Published: 03/10/2019
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'Intoxicating' Jeff VanderMeer, author of Annihilation

'Barrett's brilliant second novel plummets headlong into a darkly funny tale' Mail on Sunday

Bridget Jones meets Twin Peaks in this black comedy about a woman's retreat to a remote Australian town and the horrors awaiting her.

It wasn't just the bad breakup that turned Eleanor Mellett's life upside down. It was the cancer. And all the demons that came with it.

One day she felt a bit of a bump when she was scratching her armpit at work. The next thing she knew, her breast was being removed by an inappropriately attractive doctor, and she was subsequently inundated with cupcakes, besieged by judgy support groups, and the ungrateful recipient of hand-knitted sweaters from her mum.

Luckily, Eleanor finds that Talbingo, a remote little town, needs a primary-school teacher. Their Miss Barker upped and vanished in the night, despite being the most caring teacher ever, according to everyone. Unfortunately, Talbingo is a bit creepy. It's not only the communion-wine-swigging priest prone to rants about how cancer is caused by demons. Or the unstable, overly sensitive kids, always going on about Miss Barker and her amazing sticker system. It's living alone in a remote cabin, with no phone service or wifi, wondering why there are so many locks on the front door, and who is knocking on it late at night.

Riotously funny, deeply unsettling, and surprisingly poignant, Shirley Barrett's The Bus on Thursday is a wicked, weird, wild ride for fans of Maria Semple, Stephen King and Henry James's The Turn of the Screw. And when have those three writers ever appeared in the same sentence?

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780708898802
Number of pages: 272
Weight: 220 g
Dimensions: 196 x 126 x 20 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Bursting with raucous energy, while anchored in seriousness, The Bus on Thursday is an intoxicating horror-humor romp -- Jeff VanderMeer, author of Annihilation
Barrett's brilliant second novel plummets headlong into a darkly funny tale * Mail on Sunday *
Funny, angry, feminist . . . [Barrett is] a masterly world-builder * New York Times Book Review *
[Eleanor] is an entertainingly sardonic companion on this blackly humorous journey into horror * Observer *
This quirky tale is thrillingly original and wildly funny. A slippery narrative keeps you guessing what's really going on with a sharply witty narration * Sunday Mirror *
[A] bonkers, rather brilliant comedy . . . Savagely funny, The Bus On Thursday takes the nineteenth-century literary conceit of a woman going mad in the face of repressive social expectations and updates it with brio for the twenty-first century * Metro *
Shirley Barrett has crafted a quirky, one-of-kind, wild ride of a novel with demons, kangaroos, a missing school teacher, a remote town where things are strangely off-kilter, and wonderfully bizarre cast of characters. The Bus on Thursday is a darkly funny and deeply unsettling novel you'll devour in one sitting -- Jennifer McMahon
Fast, funny and downright weird, but a great read * Woman & Home *
A darkly funny story in the company of a riotous, jinxed heroine * Psychologies *
Barrett's narrative rushes headlong forward in a crazy and exhilarating rush of emotion and plot . . . I fell head over heels for The Bus On Thursday for its plain bonkers plot * Stylist *
This quirky tale is thrillingly original and wildly funny * Sunday People *
Hilarious . . . This witty, wise and rather demented novel occupies a strange, and possibly unique, space between screwball comedy, murder mystery and magical realism -- Wendy Holden * Daily Mail *
It's a hilarious tale, and Eleanor is the perfect anti-heroine. One to brighten gloomy afternoons * Image magazine *
Who would have thought horror-humour would be so fun? It's chilling, but so camp and perfectly paced that it works * Elle *

It defies convention. I was hooked from the opening pages . . . it's laugh-out-loud horrible and
perfectly nuts - you'll never find anything like it again

* Guardian *
This is a sharp, twisted, hilarious treasure of a book. Sort of Twin Peaks meets Bad Teacher that had me laughing, wincing and falling in love with the flawed and flawless narrator -- Jess Kidd

You may also be interested in...

Transcription
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Cockroach
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Testaments
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Nine Perfect Strangers
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Keeper
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
No Mercy
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Familiars
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
An American Marriage
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Once Upon a River
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Paris Echo
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Middle England
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

“Differently weird”

Feel this book is really confusing, not what I thought it was going to be.
Eleanor was on a self destruct mission,,
Couldn't follow what was delusion and what was real (was that the aim of the plot)
Thought the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Bizzare”

This is a really difficult book to review as it's not typical of any genre.
It's blurb'd as being Bridget Jones meets The Exorcist but it's not really either of these things.
Importantly though, I... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.