The Broken (Paperback)
  • The Broken (Paperback)
zoom

The Broken (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£6.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 23/04/2015
  • In stock

In stock online

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

The Daily Mail bookclub favourite read of 2015
'It's essential you get your hands on this thriller' Closer
'A work of near genius' Daily Mail - the best psychological thriller for fans of GIRL ON THE TRAIN and I LET YOU GO
'Chillingly brilliant thriller' Red Magazine
'Taut, tense, addictive' Good Housekeeping

Best friends tell you everything; about their kitchen renovation; about their little girl's schooling. How one of them is leaving the other for a younger model.

Best friends don't tell lies. They don't take up residence on your couch for weeks. They don't call lawyers. They don't make you choose sides.

Best friends don't keep secrets about their past. They don't put you in danger.

Best friends don't always stay best friends.

'Chillingly real psychological drama. I loved it' LISA JEWELL
'A shocking twist' PAULA DALY
'A gripping thriller of betrayal and revenge' Essentials magazine Book of the Month

Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd
ISBN: 9780552779371
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 277 g
Dimensions: 198 x 127 x 25 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A chillingly real psychological drama that had me in a total reading frenzy. I absolutely loved it. -- Lisa Jewell
Darkly compelling .... a pacy story that kept me turning the pages right until the final, shocking twist. -- Paula Daly
A brilliant and skilfully plotted depiction of the unexpected breakdown of a friendship between two couples, with one of the most chilling twists I've read in a long time. I couldn't put it down. * Louise Millar, author of THE PLAYDATE *
A wonderfully compelling and exciting book, a storyline that had sparks flying from every page, terrific writing and a hugely exhilerating and thrilling read. I loved it! * Louise Douglas *
An inexorable drama in which the characters' prejudices and loyalties leave them unable to separate face value from reality. THE BROKEN explores manipulation, deceit, betrayal and abuse, and how loss can both shape and destroy us. -- Elizabeth Forbes, author of NEAREST THING TO CRAZY
I raced to finish this story of a couple caught in the fall-out of their best friends' split. Beautifully written and peppered with moments of stunning observation, it's a superb read. -- Amanda Jennings
Reading Tamar Cohen's THE BROKEN is like sitting down with your most eloquent, quick-witted friend. She sees every side of the story. She's always one step ahead of you, full of empathy and insight. This is a story of the implicit social pacts of marriage, a fresh examination of human nature. And also, let's just say it. It's downright, utter, nasty, page-turning, delicious fun. * Caroline Kepnes, author of YOU *
Fabulous. I was drawn in from the very first page. Tamar is very skilled at creating characters that seem so real, almost as if we're their best friends too, yet beneath their exteriors, you just know there's so much more simmering away. The tension grew with every page turn, until it was almost unbearable, yet I couldn't stop reading! I literally gasped out loud, so shocked by the very unexpected ending. This brilliant book will be on my mind for a long time. * Samantha Hayes, author of UNTIL YOU'RE MINE *
Compulsive reading ... the tension racks up and the book switches from domestic drama into full-blown, chilling thriller * Essentials, Book of the Month *
Everyone's talking about this ... A gripping cocktail of betrayal and revenge * Prima Magazine *
Dramatic, sad and tense, it's essential you get your hands on this thriller. (Five stars) * Closer *
A chillingly brilliant thriller * Red Magazine *
A sustained work of near genius that takes a very familiar theme - man leaves wife for younger model - and not only brilliantly dissects the breakdown of the marriage but also teh consequences for the couple's close circle of friends ...Cohen's first foray into psychological suspense is a triumph. * Daily Mail *
Taut, tense and addictive * Good Housekeeping *
Cohen's marital drama morphs into a psychological thriller, and a last-minute twist set into motion much earlier in the narrative is brilliant. * Publishers Weekly US *

You may also be interested in...

Girl, Woman, Other
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Girl with the Louding Voice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
One August Night
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Those Who Are Loved
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Foundling
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Troubled Blood
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Serpentine
Added to basket
£7.99
Hardback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
The Beekeeper of Aleppo
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Ghosts
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Troy
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Firewatching
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Single Thread
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback

“A Superb Psychological Suspense”

Four friends; Dan and Sasha, Josh and Hannah. Two couples who are the best of friends, their daughters are the same age, they share the same interests, they laugh together, eat together and enjoy each other's... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 39
Bookread2day

“the best page turner by Tamar Cohen”

WHEN CLOSE FRIENDS SPLIT, BE CAREFUL WHOSE SIDE YOU'RE ON.

Dan and Sasha had been married for nine years with a young daughter. Dan and Sasha had only just finished moving the kitchen up to the top level of... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 30

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.