Your Waterstones card is changing, introducing...
TELL ME MORE
The Boy with the Topknot: A Memoir of Love, Secrets and Lies in Wolverhampton (Paperback)
  • The Boy with the Topknot: A Memoir of Love, Secrets and Lies in Wolverhampton (Paperback)
zoom

The Boy with the Topknot: A Memoir of Love, Secrets and Lies in Wolverhampton (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 336 Pages / Published: 30/04/2009
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Now a major new BBC drama

"It's 1979, I'm three years old, and like all breakfast times during my youth it begins with Mum combing my hair, a ritual for which I have to sit down on the second-hand, floral-patterned settee, and lean forward, like I'm presenting myself for execution."

The Boy with the Topknot: A Memoir of Love, Secrets and Lies in Wolverhampton is a hilarious and heart-rending reinvention of the modern British memoir.

For Sathnam Sanghera, growing up in Wolverhampton in the eighties was a confusing business. On the one hand, these were the heady days of George Michael mix-tapes, Dallas on TV and, if he was lucky, the occasional Bounty Bar. On the other, there was his wardrobe of tartan smocks, his 30p-an-hour job at the local sewing factory and the ongoing challenge of how to tie the perfect top-knot.

And then there was his family, whose strange and often difficult behaviour he took for granted until, at the age of twenty-four, Sathnam made a discovery that changed everything he ever thought he knew about them.

Equipped with breathtaking courage and a glorious sense of humour, he embarks on a journey into their extraordinary past - from his father's harsh life in rural Punjab to the steps of the Wolverhampton Tourist Office - trying to make sense of a life lived among secrets.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780141028590
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 234 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 20 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

I absolutely loved it. Heartbreaking and wonderful. He writes beautifully -- Maggie O'Farrell

"Could not be more enjoyable, engaging or moving" - Observer

"About real secrets, in a real quest for understanding. It's tragic, funny and disturbing. It will challenge you, and may even change you -- Carole Angier" - Independent

"Hilarious, engaging, tragicomic" - Meg Rosoff, Guardian

"Gripping and entertaining, horrifying and tender ... Exposes all those things we take for granted as we grow up" - Hardeep Singh Kohli, The Times

Fans of Nick Hornby and Jonathan Coe will love this book * Psychologies *

Gripping, tender ... recalls A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius * Time Out *

Told with enormous compassion and dry wit. The climax had me on the edge of my seat * Jonathan Coe *

Funny, heartfelt * Marie Claire *

Hugely enjoyable * New Statesman *

Funny and revealing * Sunday Times *

Marvellous. A book which manages to be colourful, funny, heart-breaking and shocking ... there's a dry wit and unexpectedness about this tale that kept me on my toes throughout * Irish Examiner *

Intimate and funny * Metro *

Moving * The London Paper *

Moving * Sunday Times *

Harrowing and impossible to put down * Evening Standard *

The most moving debut we've read in ages * Elle *

Could not be more enjoyable, engaging or moving * Observer *

Fans of Nick Hornby and Jonathan Coe will love this book * Psychologies *

Gripping, tender ... recalls A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius * Time Out *

Told with enormous compassion and dry wit. The climax had me on the edge of my seat * Jonathan Coe *

Funny, heartfelt * Marie Claire *

Hugely enjoyable * New Statesman *

Funny and revealing * Sunday Times *

Marvellous. A book which manages to be colourful, funny, heart-breaking and shocking ... there's a dry wit and unexpectedness about this tale that kept me on my toes throughout * Irish Examiner *

Intimate and funny * Metro *

Moving * The London Paper *

Moving * Sunday Times *

Harrowing and impossible to put down * Evening Standard *

The most moving debut we've read in ages * Elle *

'Gripping and entertaining, horrifying and tender ... Exposes all those things we take for granted as we grow up -- Hardeep Singh Kohli * The Times *

You may also be interested in...

The Secret Barrister
Added to basket
£16.99   £13.99
Hardback
When Breath Becomes Air
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
First Man In
Added to basket
£20.00   £13.99
Hardback
Everything I Know About Love
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
Good Night Stories For Rebel Girls 2
Added to basket
Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls
Added to basket
Reasons to Stay Alive
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Calypso
Added to basket
£16.99   £13.99
Hardback
This is Going to Hurt
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death
Added to basket
First Light
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
SAS Ghost Patrol
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Adventures of a Young Naturalist
Added to basket
How to be Champion
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Life of My Own
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Notes on a Nervous Planet
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback

Reviews

View all

“The Boy with the Topknot”

Absolutely brilliant! Please, please read!

Paperback edition
17th June 2009
Helpful? Upvote 42

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.