We regret that due to the technical limitations of our site, we are unable to offer eBooks or Audio Downloads to customers outside of the UK.

For further details please read our eBooks help.

The Boy with the Porcelain Blade (Paperback)
  • The Boy with the Porcelain Blade (Paperback)

The Boy with the Porcelain Blade (Paperback)

Paperback Published: 20/03/2014
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

An ornate yet dark fantasy, with echoes of Mervyn Peake, Robin Hobb and Jon Courtenay Grimwood. An original and beautifully imagined world, populated by unforgettable characters. Lucien de Fontein has grown up different. One of the mysterious and misshapen Orfano who appear around the Kingdom of Landfall, he is a talented fighter yet constantly lonely, tormented by his deformity, and well aware that he is a mere pawn in a political game. Ruled by an insane King and the venomous Majordomo, it is a world where corruption and decay are deeply rooted - but to a degree Lucien never dreams possible when he first discovers the plight of the 'insane' women kept in the haunting Sanatoria. Told in a continuous narrative interspersed with flashbacks we see Lucien grow up under the care of his tutors. We watch him forced through rigorous Testings, and fall in love, set against his yearning to discover where he comes from, and how his fate is tied to that of every one of the deformed Orfano in the Kingdom, and of the eerie Sanatoria itself.

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9780575133976

You may also be interested in...

“An intriguing literary fantasy debut”

The Boy with the Porcelain Blade could be described as literary fantasy steeped in a kind of alternate history Italian Renaissance. Patrick’s world, Landfall, has its origins in Shakespeare’s The Tempest, where a... More

18th March 2014
Helpful? Upvote 0

“The Boy with the Porcelain Blade”

I found The Boy with the Porcelain Blade quite a difficult book to get into, the story alternates between the past and present which takes a little getting used to. Also the central character, Lucien, is really rather... More

18th March 2014
Helpful? Upvote 1

“The Boy with the Porcelain Blade”

Fans of Robin Hobb and Patrick Rothfuss will like this one. I very much enjoyed it. The use of alternating chapters in the past and current time made for a great pace. It has a slight touch of horror near the end, but... More

25th February 2014
Helpful? Upvote 1

Your review has been submitted successfully.

View your review