The Boy Who Sang with Dragons (The Boy Who Grew Dragons 5) - The Boy Who Grew Dragons (Paperback)
  • The Boy Who Sang with Dragons (The Boy Who Grew Dragons 5) - The Boy Who Grew Dragons (Paperback)
zoom

The Boy Who Sang with Dragons (The Boy Who Grew Dragons 5) - The Boy Who Grew Dragons (Paperback)

(author), (illustrator)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£6.99
Paperback 272 Pages / Published: 07/01/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

Andy Shepherd’s enchanting series concludes with Tomas discovering a mysterious secret about his new friend Aura that brings him a step closer to unravelling the ultimate magic of the dragonfruit tree. 

Tomas is a fully-fledged expert dragon grower and protector of the dragonfruit tree. He has eyes in the back of his head for watching over those sneaky dragons, awesomely fast reflexes for putting out sparks and dodging the diving antics of whirling newly hatched dragons. He's got it all down pat - and managing his little lightning bolt dragon Zing, too.

But he's not quite prepared for the adventure that awaits him when a huge secret is revealed about his new friend, Aura. A thrilling secret that will take Tomas and Aura on a journey of discovery that will finally unlock the last mysteries of the dragonfruit tree. A journey of discovery that all the dragons will be in on - and just what will happen when lightning bolt dragon Zing and storm dragon Flicker get together?

Get ready for the ride of your life in this fizzing, sparkling final story in The Boy Who Grew Dragons series.

Publisher: Templar Publishing
ISBN: 9781848129429
Number of pages: 272
Weight: 202 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 16 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'A warm-hearted and really fun story' - Parents In Touch

'Imaginative and charming, The Boy Who Grew Dragons is a wonderfully whimsical story that kept me smiling the whole way through' - Books for Topics

'Free readers will get stuck into the new series The Boy Who Grew Dragons by Andy Shepherd, about finding magic in the most ordinary of places' - Angels and Urchins

'An inspired concept, this is a funny and heartwarming tale of magic, family and friendship' - Madge Reviews

'This is a sumptuous start to a new series, bursting with energy and humour, yet tinged with the darker side of life too. There's a grumpy neighbour, aware but preoccupied parents, an eclectic group of friends, a strange gardening guide, nomenclature of dragon pets - so many facets all covered and explored. A perfect example of domesticity interrupted with a touch of magic. Dragon fruit will never look the same again!' - Minerva Reads

'Andy Shepherd's dragon-debut is an absolute delight and is just the very start to a series that I'm sure is going to be a roaring success. It's a series that - pardon the pun - I just want to drag-on and on and on!' - The Reader Teacher

'A hilarious rip-roaring adventure. Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl and Cressida Cowell' - South Wales Evening Post

'A warm-hearted debut... lovely, expressive, characterful' - Sunday Times

'The Boy Who Grew Dragons is one of those magical children's books that warms the cockles of your heart no matter what age you might be. It's fast, it's funny, it makes you feel good, and for the brief time, it takes to read its reassuring innocence comforts you into believing that everything is right with the world. This is Andy Shepherd's first book and she knocks it out of the park from page one' - Starburst Magazine

'A spectacular start to a new series' - The Sun

'[An] ingenious premise is brought to life with great skill and humour' - The Scotsman

'Shepherd delights in describing crazy situations, and the book's heartfelt message is one of care and friendship' - Literary Review

'Fantastic fire-breathing fun with wonderful illustrations by Sara Ogilvie, this is a lovely new series for anyone who ever wanted a pet dragon' - WRD Magazine

'A kind of Pete's Dragon with extra giggles, The Boy Who Grew Dragons takes on the rather hair-singeing challenges of finding that your grandad's garden has suddenly started sprouting fire-breathing mischief-makers and the illustrations by Sara Ogilvie really make it come alive' - Waterstones Blog

'charming [and] sublime' - Event Magazine

'Hilarious, warm and full of magic... featuring delightful line drawings' - The Metro

'My son and I really liked this. It's at heart a simple story, but has some rather charming elements. Tomas raises his baby dragon, keeping him a secret, though his little sister finds out and her precious little ways are rather adorable.Friends of course eventually become suspicious - especially when there's explosive dragon poo to be found in Tomas's school bag! One of our favourite scenes, I think. The scenes of baby Flicker causing mayhem are very much in line with the age group's humour' - Nudge Book

'Irresistible... everything you want in a book for a newly independent reader - tender realism, honouring children's inner feelings and anarchic magic, both beautiful and regrettable. Sara Ogilvie's illustrations capture both enchantment and stench... A modern classic' - The Guardian

'A proper children's book... the humour and Sara Ogilvie's illustrations are just right' - New Statesman

'The story is a heartwarming account of one boy's struggle to look after a mythical creature whilst juggling the reality of life at school and at home with lots of laugh-out-loud funny moments and peppered with bold illusstrations that will keep young readers enthralled' - The School Librarian

'A wonderfully whimsical story that's fast, funny and full of feel-good moments' - Creative Bloq

'Funny and Imaginative' - The Week Junior

'A triumphant finish to a series that gives young readers dragon-sized helpings of pleasure and fun' - Love Reading

'The book explodes with rippling, vivid colour and a sense of the adventure to come even before the very first chapter begins.' - Reading Zone

You may also be interested in...

The Christmasaurus and the Winter Witch
Added to basket
Wonky Donkey's Big Surprise
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Danger Gang
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Christmasaurus
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Oi Aardvark!
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Dragon with the Blazing Bottom
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
There's a Unicorn in Your Book
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Boy With Wings
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
Greg the Sausage Roll: Santa's Little Helper
Added to basket
Megamonster
Added to basket
£14.99   £11.99
Hardback
Superworm Anniversary foiled edition PB
Added to basket
Dragons Don't Share
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Not Here To Be Liked
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Tom Gates: Random Acts of Fun
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
The Christmasaurus and the Naughty List
Added to basket
Book Lover Jo

“A truly unexpected but delightful finale”

For me this series has gone from strength to strength, every time I feel like Andy can’t possibly create more enchanting stories then along she comes and fills me with absolute wonder. I have a real fondness for Aura... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Fantastic finale!”

What a finale. We have just finished ‘The Boy who Sang with Dragons’, sadly the last book in the series. We didn’t want it to end. Such lovely characters who we have got to know so well they feel like family. Full of... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“Another amazing dragon adventure ”

Andy Shepard is a truest wonderful writer. As a teacher of primary school dragons I can not thank her enough for creating such a heart warming amazing adventure series. I’ve spent many days in grandads garden with the... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.