The Boy Who Grew Dragons (Paperback)
  • The Boy Who Grew Dragons (Paperback)
  • The Boy Who Grew Dragons (Paperback)
  • The Boy Who Grew Dragons (Paperback)
  • The Boy Who Grew Dragons (Paperback)
zoom
The Boy Who Grew Dragons (Paperback) The Boy Who Grew Dragons (Paperback) The Boy Who Grew Dragons (Paperback)

The Boy Who Grew Dragons (Paperback)

(author), (illustrator)
£7.99
Paperback 224 Pages
Published: 14/06/2018
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Tomas unexpectedly becomes the guardian of some freshly hatched fire-breathers when dragon fruit starts appearing on his grandad's tree in Shepherd's utterly enchanting, laugh-out-loud and heartwarming story.

Shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize 2019

When Tomas discovers a strange old tree at the bottom of his grandad's garden, he doesn't think much of it. But he takes the funny fruit from the tree back into the house - and gets the shock and delight of his life when a tiny dragon hatches!

The tree is a dragonfruit tree, and Tomas has got his very own dragon, Flicker.

Tomas soon finds out that life with Flicker is great fun, but also very ... unpredictable. Yes, dragons are wonderful, but they also set fire to your toothbruth and leave your pants hanging from the TV aerial.

Tomas has to learn how to look after Flicker - and quickly. And then something extraordinary happens - more dragonfruits appear on the tree. Tomas is officially growing dragons... The first book in a sparky and utterly enchanting new series.

Publisher: Templar Publishing
ISBN: 9781848126497
Number of pages: 224
Weight: 154 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 14 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

A warm-hearted debut... lovely, expressive, characterful - Sunday Times

Irresistible... everything you want in a book for a newly independent reader - tender realism, honouring children's inner feelings and anarchic magic, both beautiful and regrettable. Sara Ogilvie's illustrations capture both enchantment and stench... A modern classic - The Guardian

[An] ingenious premise is brought to life with great skill and humour - The Scotsman

Hilarious, warm and full of magic... featuring delightful line drawings - The Metro

Imaginative and charming, The Boy Who Grew Dragons is a wonderfully whimsical story that kept me smiling the whole way through - Books for Topics

A warm-hearted and really fun story - Parents In Touch

A hilarious rip-roaring adventure. Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl and Cressida Cowell - South Wales Evening Post

Free readers will get stuck into the new series The Boy Who Grew Dragons by Andy Shepherd, about finding magic in the most ordinary of places - Angels and Urchins

an inspired concept, this is a funny and heartwarming tale of magic, family and friendship - Madge Reviews

This is a sumptuous start to a new series, bursting with energy and humour, yet tinged with the darker side of life too. There's a grumpy neighbour, aware but preoccupied parents, an eclectic group of friends, a strange gardening guide, nomenclature of dragon pets - so many facets all covered and explored. A perfect example of domesticity interrupted with a touch of magic. Dragon fruit will never look the same again! - Minerva Reads

Andy Shepherd's dragon-debut is an absolute delight and is just the very start to a series that I'm sure is going to be a roaring success. It's a series that - pardon the pun - I just want to drag-on and on and on! - The Reader Teacher

The Boy Who Grew Dragons is one of those magical children's books that warms the cockles of your heart no matter what age you might be. It's fast, it's funny, it makes you feel good, and for the brief time, it takes to read its reassuring innocence comforts you into believing that everything is right with the world. This is Andy Shepherd's first book and she knocks it out of the park from page one - Starburst Magazine

a spectacular start to a new series - The Sun

Shepherd delights in describing crazy situations, and the book's heartfelt message is one of care and friendship - Literary Review

Fantastic fire-breathing fun with wonderful illustrations by Sara Ogilvie, this is a lovely new series for anyone who ever wanted a pet dragon - WRD Magazine

A kind of Pete's Dragon with extra giggles, The Boy Who Grew Dragons takes on the rather hair-singeing challenges of finding that your grandad's garden has suddenly started sprouting fire-breathing mischief-makers and the illustrations by Sara Ogilvie really make it come alive - Waterstones Blog

charming [and] sublime - Event Magazine

My son and I really liked this. It's at heart a simple story, but has some rather charming elements. Tomas raises his baby dragon, keeping him a secret, though his little sister finds out and her precious little ways are rather adorable.Friends of course eventually become suspicious - especially when there's explosive dragon poo to be found in Tomas's school bag! One of our favourite scenes, I think. The scenes of baby Flicker causing mayhem are very much in line with the age group's humour - Nudge Book

A proper children's book... the humour and Sara Ogilvie's illustrations are just right - New Statesman

The story is a heartwarming account of one boy's struggle to look after a mythical creature whilst juggling the reality of life at school and at home with lots of laugh-out-loud funny moments and peppered with bold illusstrations that will keep young readers enthralled - The School Librarian

A wonderfully whimsical story that's fast, funny and full of feel-good moments - Creative Bloq

Funny and Imaginative - The Week Junior

You may also be interested in...

Dog Man 12: The Scarlet Shedder
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
Looshkin: Honk If You See It!
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Bunny vs Monkey: Bunny Bonanza!
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
Bunny vs Monkey
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Dog Man
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Isadora Moon Helps Out
Added to basket
Dog Man 11: Twenty Thousand Fleas Under the Sea (PB)
Added to basket
Bunny vs Monkey: Machine Mayhem
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Bunny vs Monkey: Multiverse Mix-up!
Added to basket
Looshkin: Oof! Right in the Puddings!
Added to basket
The Adventures of Dog Man 2: Unleashed
Added to basket
Emerald and the Lost Treasure
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Dog Man:A Tale of Two Kitties
Added to basket
Dog Man 4: Dog Man and Cat Kid
Added to basket
The 169-Storey Treehouse
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Dog Man 5: Lord of the Fleas PB
Added to basket
Bunny vs Monkey: The Impossible Pig
Added to basket
Dog Man 6: Brawl of the Wild PB
Added to basket

“Who doesn't love a good dragon story?”

As soon as a dragon pops out of a mysterious plant, Tomas' life completely changes! Full of brilliant imagination, description and exploding dragon poop, the excitement lasts right until the end. I can't... More

Paperback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 66

“Extra chocolate.....”

Really great read... dragons, exploding poo, extra chocolate!
A little suspense and lots of fun!

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 58
Serena - Waterstones Bookseller

“Fiery Gardening Skills”

I adored this wonderful, little book! The whimsical, vivid tones in which every character was painted immediately drew me in - everyone felt impossibly real from the very first moment we meet them. Grandad, with his... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 56

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: