The Boy That Never Was (Hardback)
  • The Boy That Never Was (Hardback)
zoom

The Boy That Never Was (Hardback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£12.99
Hardback Published: 27/03/2014
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
This is featured on BBC Radio 2 Book Club on 6th May 2014. "The Boy That Never Was is that powerful thing, a beautifully written mystery driven by its exploration of the characters' innermost hearts". (Tana French). You were loved and lost - then you came back...Five years ago, three-year-old Dillon disappeared. For his father Harry - who left him alone for ten crucial minutes - it was an unforgivable lapse. Yet Dillon's mother Robyn has never blamed her husband: her own secret guilt is burden enough. Now they're trying to move on, returning home to Dublin to make a fresh start. But their lives are turned upside down the day Harry sees an eight-year-old boy in the crowd. A boy Harry is convinced is Dillon. But the boy vanishes before he can do anything about it. What Harry thought he saw quickly plunges their marriage into a spiral of crazed obsession and broken trust, uncovering deceits and shameful secrets. Everything Robyn and Harry ever believed in one another is cast into doubt. And at the centre of it all is the boy that never was...The Boy That Never Was is a deeply atmospheric and masterfully crafted tale of love and loss that will chill you to the bone. Fans of Rosamund Lupton and Sophie Hannah will fall in love with this debut from Karen Perry. Praise for The Boy That Never Was: "A truly remarkable novel...Written in a captivating, lyrical style and brilliantly structured, the story grips your heart from the first pages and simply never lets go". (Jeffery Deaver). "This is a debut novel that will catch fire". (Nelson DeMille). Karen Perry is the pseudonym for Paul Perry and Karen Gillece. Paul Perry is the author of a number of critically acclaimed books including The Drowning of the Saints, Goldsmith's Ghost, 108 Moons, The Orchid Keeper, and most recently The Last Falcon and Small Ordinance. A winner of The Hennessy New Irish Writer of The Year Award, he is a Lecturer in Creative Writing for Kingston University, London, Writer Fellow for University College Dublin and Course Director in Poetry for the Faber Academy in Dublin.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781405912907
Weight: 560 g
Dimensions: 240 x 162 x 30 mm

You may also be interested in...

Macbeth
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Anatomy of a Scandal
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Snap
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Killing Commendatore
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
I Invited Her In
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
An Unsuitable Match
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Discovery of Witches
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
After the Party
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Conversations with Friends
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Milkman
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Break
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“Heart wrenching”

Five years ago, Three year old Dillon disappeared, Harry his father left him alone for ten minutes and has never forgave himself. Dillons mother Robyn has never blamed Harry as she had her own secret to burden. One... More

Hardback edition
2nd April 2014
Helpful? Upvote 82
Bookread2day

“A real credit to Penguin book publishers”

Karen Perry is a real credit to Penguin book publishers. The Boy That Never Was by Karen Perry is an astonishingly very good story with the writing and the emotional involvement. As the story progresses it gets bigger... More

Hardback edition
18th March 2014
Helpful? Upvote 50

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.