The Boy in the Smoke (Paperback)
  • The Boy in the Smoke (Paperback)
zoom

The Boy in the Smoke (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 288 Pages
Published: 06/07/2023
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

Divided by time, united by hope... can the past change their future?

From the acclaimed author of Sadé and her Shadow Beasts comes a brand new story - about a boy and his dad dealing with the threat of eviction and a boy from the past who might be able to help ... perfect for fans of A Kind of Spark.

Isaiah always has an easy smile and smart answer for his teachers. He's good at fixing things and making people happy. But ever since Mum left and Dad got ill, it's been getting harder to keep all that up. To not let his friends know they're struggling. To keep believing things will get better...
Then Isaiah meets the boy in the smoke, a boy he connects with through a forgotten fireplace in his tower block. A boy from the past with a mystery to solve, who desperately needs Isaiah's help.
Can Isaiah change Jacob's life for the better? And in doing so, maybe can he change his own?

An uplifting story about friendship and resilience, courage and hope...

Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
ISBN: 9781444963588
Number of pages: 288
Weight: 251 g
Dimensions: 196 x 130 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Praise for 'Sadé and her Shadow Beasts': A beautiful story that tackles big feelings in an accessible and relatable way. - Booktrust

Praise for 'Sadé and her Shadow Beasts': A real ode to the power of creativity, and the way grief can shape our worlds - both real and imaginary. - L.D. Lapinski

You may also be interested in...

Howl’s Moving Castle
Added to basket
Wrath of the Triple Goddess
Added to basket
Dog Man 11: Twenty Thousand Fleas Under the Sea (PB)
Added to basket
Dog Man 12: The Scarlet Shedder
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
A Mind Full of Murder
Added to basket
Skandar and the Chaos Trials
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Murder Most Unladylike
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Added to basket
Impossible Creatures
Added to basket
Diary Of A Wimpy Kid (Book 1)
Added to basket
The Last Bear
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback

“Gripping tale, heartfelt and emotional, history links - perfect for UKS2”

I loved this story, which had me gripped from the start. You instantly feel connected to the main character and invested in his story. I loved the way it linked to Victorian times and how the two boys found... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“A cracking adventure which brings history fully to life”

Isaiah’s life has been spiralling out of control since his mum left & his dad is unable to work. When he finds a portal in a mysterious fireplace in the basement he meets the equally desperate workhouse boy Jacob... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: