The Boy from Nowhere: A gritty saga of the search for belonging (Paperback)
  • The Boy from Nowhere: A gritty saga of the search for belonging (Paperback)
zoom

The Boy from Nowhere: A gritty saga of the search for belonging (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 416 Pages
Published: 10/12/2009
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 2 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket

In care at four. A runaway at six. On the streets at fifteen. For some kids, there's no hope.

Rosie Goodwin writes an unforgettable saga in The Boy From Nowhere, a tale of a young boy's desperate search for a place to call home. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Hutchinson and Cathy Sharp.

'A touching and powerful new novel from a wonderful writer' - Bookseller

Alex never stood a chance. After one 'accident' too many, he's taken into care aged four. Although his mother promises to get him back, he's adopted by a childless couple and renamed Franky. It should be a fresh start, but his new dad has a twisted idea of fatherhood. Abused and alone, Franky escapes - but his freedom is short-lived, and after a series of foster homes no one can get through to him. He says he's 'the boy from nowhere', but deep down he's still waiting for his mum to take him home.

Franky slips into a dangerous world on the streets of London, earning a living the only way he can. One day he might find a way out, but can he ever trust again?

What readers are saying about The Boy From Nowhere:

'You read the whole book waiting for a happy ending... When I finished the book I cried and cried and it has remained in my thoughts ever since. What an amazing author Rosie Goodwin is to be able to do that. I find myself really caring about what happens to the people she writes about'

'What a great read this was! With Rosie Goodwin you never know what to expect, apart from the fact that it will be a fantastic read! This is a very sad story with quite a twist... You won't be able to put this down once you start reading it!'

'One of the best books I have ever read. So far everyone of Rosie Goodwin's books have been brilliant reads, but this one surpassed them all'

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9780755342280
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 296 g
Dimensions: 196 x 130 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Praise for Rosie's first novel, THE BAD APPLE: 'Rosie Goodwin is a born storyteller - she'll make you cry, she'll make you laugh, but most of all you'll care for her characters and lose yourself in her story. An author destined for the top - Jeannie Johnson, author of THE REST OF OUR DAYS

Rosie deserves all her success. She is a talented storyteller and will go all the way to the top - Dee Williams

The tearjerker of the season...[a] heart-rending tale - Western Mail

A promising and well-drawn debut - Lancashire Evening Post

A good tearjerker...compelling - Reading Evening Post

A gifted writer... Not only is Goodwin's characterisation and dialogue compelling, but her descriptive writing is a joy - Nottingham Evening Post

A heart-throbber of a story from Goodwin that puts many other so-called emotional blockbusters in the shade - Northern Echo

Goodwin is a fabulous writer...she reels the reader in surprisingly quickly and her style involves lots of twists and turns that are in no way predictable - Worcester Evening News

A touching and powerful new novel from a wonderful writer - Bookseller

You may also be interested in...

A Life's Music
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
September
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Mammoth Hunters
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Hothouse Flower
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Dilly's Hope
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Moor's Last Sigh
Added to basket
The Family
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Place Called Home
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Demelza
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Warleggan
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Black Moon
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Jeremy Poldark
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Mist Over The Mersey
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Middlesex
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Njal's Saga
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Sagas of the Icelanders
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: