The Boy at the Door (Hardback)
  • The Boy at the Door (Hardback)
zoom

The Boy at the Door (Hardback)

(author)
8 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£14.99
Hardback 384 Pages / Published: 12/07/2018
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
A brilliant, twisty psychological thriller. Perfect for fans of Friend Request, He Said/She Said and A Simple Favour.

'Unsettling, layered, bold, unpredictable, dark. EXCELLENT' Will Dean, author of Dark Pines.

'Grips like a vice... REMARKABLE' Crime Time.

Everyone has secrets. Even those who seem to be perfect...

On a rainy October evening, Cecilia Wilborg - loving wife, devoted mother, tennis club regular - is waiting for her kids to finish their swimming lesson. It's been a long day. She can almost taste the crisp, cold glass of Chablis she'll pour for herself once the girls are tucked up in bed.

But what Cecilia doesn't know, is that this is the last time life will feel normal. Tonight she'll be asked to drop a little boy home, a simple favour that will threaten to expose her deepest, darkest secret...

'STUNNING... Intricate and twisted with dark secrets emerging at every turn' ALEXANDRA BURT, author of Sunday Times bestseller Little Girl Gone.

'Heartbreaking and HEAD-SPINNING' MARY TORJUSSEN, author of Gone Without a Trace.

Publisher: Head of Zeus
ISBN: 9781786699237
Number of pages: 384
Dimensions: 228 x 145 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Stunning... an extraordinary plot; intricate and twisted with dark secrets emerging at every turn. An engaging mystery with an ending you won't see coming' -- Alexandra Burt
Atmospheric and beautifully written... combines complex and believable characters with a heart-breaking and head-spinning plot' -- Mary Torjussen
'Dahl savagely delineates the price of living in a society that insists women must try to be perfect wives and mothers and have successful careers, too, or they'll be inevitably made to feel they're never good enough' * Publishers Weekly (starred review) *
'Unsettling, layered, bold, unpredictable, dark. EXCELLENT' -- Will Dean
'A novel of remarkable accomplishment that sets its nuanced and intriguing characters in the context of a plot that grips like a vice' * Crime Time *
'A riveting psychological thriller' * Excelle magazine *
'Alex Dahl's sharp characterisations make her story feel fresh' * Sunday Express *
'[Dahl] adds some twisted black humour and creates a tense narration that will keep readers intrigued and wondering how to approach the main character' * Crime Review *
A rollicking great read... [Cecilia] is a fascinating character who lies relentlessly, with reckless abandon, in a desperate bid to protect the big secret she's hiding' * Connaught Telegraph. *

You may also be interested in...

If We Were Villains
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Not a Happy Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Magpie
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Silverview
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Heron's Cry
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Maidens
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
One of the Girls
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
The Passenger & Stella Maris: Boxed Set
Added to basket
The Lamplighters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
1979
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Verity
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Line to Kill
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Night She Disappeared
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Over My Dead Body
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
With A Mind to Kill
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Stella Maris
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback

“Three and a half stars”

This is a hard book to rate as Cecelia is not a likeable character but a very selfish one with no respect for others - what Cecelia wants, Cecelia gets! She is very privileged and will lie without guilt to cover... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 20

“What a fantastic debut”

I thought this book was cleverly written, slowly revealing little bits at a time, which keep you gripped to the very end.
What ever your feelings are for the characters are, this is definitely a page turner and very... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 19

“Great premise, not so great execution”

I don't regret the purchase because the book kept me entertained for a few hours, but I wouldn't read another story by Alex Dahl.

The Boy at the Door was undeniably gripping, and it kept me turning the... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 18

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.