The Bookseller of Inverness (Paperback)
  • The Bookseller of Inverness (Paperback)
zoom

The Bookseller of Inverness (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 416 Pages
Published: 02/03/2023
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

The creator of Alexander Seaton and Damian Seeker crafts a brooding standalone period crime novel centred on the titular bookseller and Culloden survivor who is drawn into a web of intrigue when a stranger is found murdered in his shop.

Waterstones Scottish Book of the Year 2023

Waterstones Scottish Book of the Month for March 2023

Longlisted for the McIlvanney Prize 2023

A gripping historical thriller set in Inverness in the wake of the 1746 battle of Culloden from twice CWA award-winning author S. G. MacLean. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Andrew Taylor.

After Culloden, Iain MacGillivray was left for dead on Drumossie Moor. Wounded, his face brutally slashed, he survived only by pretending to be dead as the Redcoats patrolled the corpses of his Jacobite comrades.

Six years later, with the clan chiefs routed and the Highlands subsumed into the British state, Iain lives a quiet life, working as a bookseller in Inverness. One day, after helping several of his regular customers, he notices a stranger lurking in the upper gallery of his shop, poring over his collection. But the man refuses to say what he's searching for and only leaves when Iain closes for the night.

The next morning Iain opens up shop and finds the stranger dead, his throat cut, and the murder weapon laid out in front of him - a sword with a white cockade on its hilt, the emblem of the Jacobites. With no sign of the killer, Iain wonders whether the stranger discovered what he was looking for - and whether he paid for it with his life. He soon finds himself embroiled in a web of deceit and a series of old scores to be settled in the ashes of war.

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
ISBN: 9781529414219
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 285 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Delivers everything you could possibly want from a historical crime novel, and then gives you a bit more on top. The Jacobites are a perennially fascinating subject, the ultimate forlorn hope of history, and MacLean provides a fresh and intriguing slant on it, clearly based on rock-solid research. She paints a memorable and densely textured picture of post-Culloden Inverness and its surroundings. She's on home ground here, and it shows. Her best yet - Andrew Taylor

The Bookseller of Inverness is everything you could ask for from a historical thriller - gripping, immersive and filled with intriguing characters. S.G. MacLean can make any period sing with life. If you've not read her before, this is the perfect place to start - Antonia Hodgson

S. G. MacLean just goes from strength to strength. The Bookseller of Inverness is an intricately wrought, compulsively page-turning tale of intrigue set in a post-Rebellion Scotland so perfectly conjured and so convincing that you can smell the heather and taste the blood - Craig Russell

Well-written and well-plotted, MacLean is gifted with a writing style that blends literary storytelling with a fast-paced mystery - Scottish Field

This is an expertly plotted crime thriller built around the complexities of Jacobite histories: Walter Scott meets tartan noir - The Times

With its superbly realised scenes and spirited narration, this slice of historical fiction takes you on a wild ride - The Times Audio Book of the Week

An excellent work of historical fiction: rooted in fact ... with the imagined characters and situations seamlessly stitched into recorded reality - Literary Review

A gripping and thought-provoking novel. Highly recommended - Historical Novel Review

A twisting, absorbing plot - Sunday Times

A triumphant return to Scotland for S. G. MacLean - Historia

You may also be interested in...

The Boleyn Inheritance
Added to basket
Remarkable Creatures
Added to basket
Master and Commander
Added to basket
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Place Called Winter
Added to basket
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
London
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Heresy
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Lamentation
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
American Pastoral
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Place of Greater Safety
Added to basket
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Clan of the Cave Bear
Added to basket
The Red Queen
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Vivienne O'Regan

“Excellent work of historical fiction set in 18th Century Scotland”

My thanks to Quercus Books for an eARC via NetGalley of ‘The Bookseller of Inverness’ by S. G. MacLean.

This is a standalone historical thriller set in Scotland during the 18th Century. It’s focus is upon the... More

Hardback edition
4 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 27

“outstanding hitsorical fiction”

Wonderfully evocative, a read shrouded in atmosphere, let the writing transport you back in time with its descriptive narrative and poetic style, the author gives the reader a terrific sense of place and feel for the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 26

“Great writer and brilliant setting”

Iain McGillivray is one of the survivors of Culloden, scarred but unrepentent he lives a quiet life in Inverness. However the latest Jacobite plot is about to arrive on his doorstep and Iain is swiftly involved. A... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 23

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: