The Booklovers' Guide To Wine: A Celebration of the History, the Mysteries and the Literary Pleasures of Drinking Wine (Wine Book, Wine Guide, and for Fans of The Wine Bible or Sommelier Books) (Paperback)
  • The Booklovers' Guide To Wine: A Celebration of the History, the Mysteries and the Literary Pleasures of Drinking Wine (Wine Book, Wine Guide, and for Fans of The Wine Bible or Sommelier Books) (Paperback)
zoom

The Booklovers' Guide To Wine: A Celebration of the History, the Mysteries and the Literary Pleasures of Drinking Wine (Wine Book, Wine Guide, and for Fans of The Wine Bible or Sommelier Books) (Paperback)

(author), (foreword)
£12.95
Paperback 394 Pages / Published: 05/10/2017
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
#1 Best Seller in Wine & Spirits Buying Guides Great Wines and Great Writers are a Wonderful BlendA fact-filled, jargon free guide to wine, bursting with entertaining anecdotes, literary quotes and compelling humor that will teach you everything you always wanted to learn about wine but were too scared to ask. Pure delight. "This book would be a highly recommendable primer on wine without the literary references as Alexander guides us through regions and grapes, plus how to truly appreciate this nectar. But the hefty chapter matching grapes with authors is pure delight: albarino and J.R.R. Tolkien, chardonnay and Jane Austen, and his personal favorite, gewurztraminer and Marcel Proust." - Minneapolis Star Tribune The pleasures of great wine and great writers. Under the careful guidance of his father, Patrick Alexander began drinking wine with his meals at the age of five. At the same age, encouraged by his mother, he began a lifelong love-affair with books. The twin pleasures of wine and writing remained his passion for the next sixty-five years. He has raised his own children in many of the world's great wine growing regions, from Bordeaux and Piedmont in Europe to the Santa Cruz mountains of California while researching and writing his definitive guide to the novels of Marcel Proust. History of wine and some of the best wines. For the past six years, Patrick has been teaching a sold-out wine appreciation class at the nation's No.1 independent bookstore, Books & Books in Coral Gables, Florida. The Booklovers' Guide to Wine is based on this very successful class and blends Patrick's passion for the culture and history of wine and his love of literature for the world's great writers. A literary twist on traditional food and wine pairings, this book explores how great wines and great writers can be combined to enhance the enjoyment of both. The book describes the history of wine from the time of Noah to the birth of two-buck Chuck.

Publisher: Mango Media
ISBN: 9781633536067
Number of pages: 394
Weight: 499 g
Dimensions: 229 x 152 x 20 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"Every bit as edifying and entertaining is Patrick Alexander's "Booklovers' Guide to Wine" (Mango, 394 pages, $19.95), which takes pairing to a new level: matching great reading with tasty wines. This book would be a highly recommendable primer on wine without the literary references as Alexander guides us through regions and grapes, plus how to truly appreciate this nectar. But the hefty chapter matching grapes with authors is pure delight: albarino and J.R.R. Tolkien, chardonnay and Jane Austen, and his personal favorite, gewurztraminer and Marcel Proust. Amazingly, every explanation of the matchups makes so much sense that it's impossible to imagine another author for that wine, or vice versa." - Minneapolis Star Tribune "Patrick's conversational writing style and wit makes readers feel as if they are attending his class. The Booklovers' Guide to Wine covers vast amounts of information without ever becoming dry in delivery. I found myself making quick progress through the 350-plus pages, continuously engaged along the way. Isn't that what we all want from a good book?" - Texas Wine Lover "Patrick Alexander, author of "The Booklovers' Guide to Wine" and host of Books & Books' wine appreciation course, says which glass you use doesn't make much difference.The important thing is that the bowl should narrow at the top to focus and concentrate the aromas," he says. "Personally I like big glasses with stems. . . . Also glass should be plain and clear, not colored or engraved." -MIami Herald "Guides to the wide world of wine are many but this is the first book on the market to pair books with wine by an author who is a preeminent expert on both." -Thriftbooks.com "Patrick Alexander seems to be the perfect guide for booklovers who want to enjoy wine even more through story-telling...... I have read dozens of wine guides over the years and I can't think of one that is so much fun. Simply irresistible!. ........ Alexander's literary references are the second distinctive factor. His abundant quotes from famous authors are clever and really made me think. And the chapter on wine grape varieties - where grapes are compared to famous authors - is both fun and informative." -Mike Veseth, editor of the Wine Economist and author of many wine books, including Wine Wars. "From the preface through to the epilogue readers will learn everything from why the author has a dislike for wine critic Robert Parker that is completely logical yet surprising, basics on how to taste wine, read labels, naming different varietals, how to make wine, why sweet wines are popular, the connection between religion and wine, the difference between an American's understanding of wine and that of a European's in relation to terroir, what the 100 year war did to the wine industry, why the opinions on wine are so subjective and finally, why Alexander is "never happier than with a glass of wine in one hand and a good book in the other." -Eve Bushman: Wine writer and consultant. Member of the Wine and Spirits Education Trust (WSET), and the North American Sommelier Association (NASA), author of "Wine Etiquette for Everyone" "Listen up, lovers of cheap wine (aka everybody who reads this column): Wine expert Patrick Alexander says we're drinking the right thing. .... Alexander knows a lot about wine, and he enjoys pairing wines with some of his favorite writers (Shakespeare with sherry, J.R.R. Tolkien with Albarino, Jane Austen with Chardonnay)." - Connie Ogle: Book editor and wine columnist for the Miami Herald "Amazingly comprehensive. It was a good read for me as a wine enthusiast but for a novice it would be a heck of a resource. I really like the structure of the chapters. .... Overall, a solid wine book and the compilation of information must have taken a heck of a long time to put together. The history and context is awesome. The details on varieties and wine regions is amazing." -Chris O'Shea: Editor/ Writer. The Unfussy Wine Enthusiasts

You may also be interested in...

The Ripening Sun
Added to basket
Secrets of the Sommeliers
Added to basket
Wine A Tasting Course
Added to basket
Making Wild Wines & Meads
Added to basket
Making Your Own Wine at Home
Added to basket
Vino Italiano
Added to basket
£25.00
Paperback
Sediment
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
Bordeaux/Burgundy
Added to basket
An Omelette And a Glass of Wine
Added to basket
A Hedonist in the Cellar
Added to basket
Inventing Wine
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Grapes & Wines
Added to basket
£25.00
Hardback
Oz Clarke Bordeaux Third Edition
Added to basket
The Wine Diet
Added to basket
The Pocket Guide to Wine
Added to basket
The Wine Pocket Bible
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.