Find your perfect holiday reading
The Book of Dreams (Paperback)
  • The Book of Dreams (Paperback)
zoom

The Book of Dreams (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£19.99
Paperback 480 Pages / Published: 15/05/2019
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
Warm, wise, and magical--the latest novel by the bestselling author of THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP and THE LITTLE FRENCH BISTRO is an astonishing exploration of the thresholds between life and death

Henri Skinner is a hardened ex-war reporter on the run from his past. On his way to see his son, Sam, for the first time in years, Henri steps into the road without looking and collides with oncoming traffic. He is rushed to a nearby hospital where he floats, comatose, between dreams, reliving the fairytales of his childhood and the secrets that made him run away in the first place.

After the accident, Sam--a thirteen-year old synesthete with an IQ of 144 and an appetite for science fiction--waits by his father's bedside every day. There he meets Eddie Tomlin, a woman forced to confront her love for Henri after all these years, and twelve-year old Madelyn Zeidler, a coma patient like Henri and the sole survivor of a traffic accident that killed her family. As these four very different individuals fight--for hope, for patience, for life--they are bound together inextricably, facing the ravages of loss and first love side by side.

A revelatory, urgently human story that examines what we consider serious and painful alongside light and whimsy, THE BOOK OF DREAMS is a tender meditation on memory, liminality, and empathy, asking with grace and gravitas what we will truly find meaningful in our lives once we are gone.

Publisher: Cengage Learning, Inc
ISBN: 9781984846761
Number of pages: 480
Weight: 454 g
Dimensions: 231 x 155 x 33 mm
Edition: Large type / large print edition


MEDIA REVIEWS
Praise for The Book of Dreams

"An effective exploration of connections that transcend physical boundaries...a poignant story about longing, nostalgia, and the pain of missed opportunities."--Kirkus Reviews

"An empathetic and emotionally stunning novel. Never preachy or maudlin, this deep dive into some of life's most haunting questions will appeal to fans of Isabel Allende and Mary Simses."--Booklist

"Captivating... This exploration of unfinished relationships has a haunting, evocative quality, and is a perfect, conversation-starting selection for book groups."--Publishers Weekly


Praise for The Little Paris Bookshop

New York Times Bestseller

"If you're looking to be charmed right out of your own life for a few hours, sit down with this wise and winsome novel...Everything happens just as you want it to... from poignant moments to crystalline insights in exactly the right measure." --Oprah.com

"The settings are ideal for a summer-romance read...Who can resist floating on a barge through France surrounded by books, wine, love, and great conversation?" --Christian Science Monitor

"[A] bona fide international hit." --New York Times Book Review

"A story that reflects all the romance and sweetness of Paris itself." --San Francisco Book Review

"The Little Paris Bookshop is an enchantment...the next best thing to booking a trip to France." --Sarah Pekkanen, author of Catching Air

You may also be interested in...

Transcription
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Good Omens
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Paris Echo
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
I Owe You One
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
When All is Said
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Milkman
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Clockmaker's Daughter
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Labyrinth of the Spirits
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Clock Dance
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Never Greener
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
An American Marriage
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Past Tense
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Jane Skudder

“It's a Wonderful Read”

Henri, like so many of the French heroes of my favourite quirky reads, has problems with love. He can deal with passion but is afraid of emotional connection and has failed relationships to prove it. He is trying to... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.