The Boneless Mercies (Paperback)
  • The Boneless Mercies (Paperback)
zoom

The Boneless Mercies (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 04/10/2018
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

Death becomes her in this chilling, imaginatively rich fantasy novel of a woman hired to kill but destined for glory. Recommended for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Laini Taylor.

They called us the Mercies, or sometimes the Boneless Mercies. They said we were shadows, ghosts, and if you touched our skin we dissolved into smoke.

Frey, Ovie, Juniper, and Runa are Boneless Mercies - death-traders, hired to kill quickly, quietly and mercifully. It is a job for women, and women only. Men will not do this sad, dark work.

Frey has no family, no home, no fortune, and yet her blood sings a song of glory. So when she hears of a monster slaughtering men, women, and children in a northern jarldom, she decides this the Mercies' one chance to change their fate.

But glory comes at a price ...

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN: 9781471170003
Number of pages: 352
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 21 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Fierce and glorious, this story of outcast girls defying fate utterly bewitched me. Tucholke is a gorgeous writer.' - Laini Taylor

'Its every page hints at a deeper magic at work; it contains a whole world and all its myths and histories within its skin.' - Melissa Albert

'Ruthless and lyrical, heart-warming and blood-chilling, and beautifully redolent of ancient tales and history. It will sing to a new generation of heroes.' - Samantha Shannon

'I fell in love with this stunning novel from the very first page. Fierce and unforgettable, with gorgeous prose and a fantastic premise that more than delivers. Easily one of my favorite YA novels of 2018.'  - Katherine Webber

You may also be interested in...

The Ickabog
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
Added to basket
The Wonky Donkey
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Midnight Sun
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Listen to the Moon
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Added to basket
Shadow and Bone
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Jolly Christmas Postman
Added to basket
The Worst Witch
Added to basket
£5.99
Paperback
Bad Dad
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Littlest Yak
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
They Both Die at the End
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Hunger Games
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Added to basket
The Ice Monster
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Midnight Guardians
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback

“A stunning stand alone”

This book was such a delight to read, mainly due to the world and writing. I'm rather sad it's standalone, because I'd love to explore the world further.

The world building in this book is wonderful.... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 8

“Beautifully Written With Fascinating History But Not Quite As Gripping As I Imagined”

‘We made people uneasy, for we were women with weapons. And yet the Mercies were needed. Men would not do our sad, dark work.’

There’s something quite wonderful about the way in which The Boneless Mercies is written.... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4
Riddler

“A Beautiful, Dream-Like, Dark Fantasy”

There is so much going on in this book!
The Boneless Mercies are no strangers to death, they do the work others won't or can't do, they put an end to the suffering of others.
There are parts of this book... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.