Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Click & Collect from 2 Hours*
Free Delivery to UK Shops
Free UK Standard Delivery On all orders £20 and over Free Delivery to UK Shops Local shops and expert booksellers nationwide Free Click & Collect to UK shops From 2 hours of your order*
The Boneless Mercies (Paperback)
  • The Boneless Mercies (Paperback)
zoom

The Boneless Mercies (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 04/10/2018
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

Death becomes her in this chilling, imaginatively rich fantasy novel of a woman hired to kill but destined for glory. Recommended for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Laini Taylor.

They called us the Mercies, or sometimes the Boneless Mercies. They said we were shadows, ghosts, and if you touched our skin we dissolved into smoke.

Frey, Ovie, Juniper, and Runa are Boneless Mercies - death-traders, hired to kill quickly, quietly and mercifully. It is a job for women, and women only. Men will not do this sad, dark work.

Frey has no family, no home, no fortune, and yet her blood sings a song of glory. So when she hears of a monster slaughtering men, women, and children in a northern jarldom, she decides this the Mercies' one chance to change their fate.

But glory comes at a price ...

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN: 9781471170003
Number of pages: 352
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 21 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Fierce and glorious, this story of outcast girls defying fate utterly bewitched me. Tucholke is a gorgeous writer.' - Laini Taylor

'Its every page hints at a deeper magic at work; it contains a whole world and all its myths and histories within its skin.' - Melissa Albert

'Ruthless and lyrical, heart-warming and blood-chilling, and beautifully redolent of ancient tales and history. It will sing to a new generation of heroes.' - Samantha Shannon

'I fell in love with this stunning novel from the very first page. Fierce and unforgettable, with gorgeous prose and a fantastic premise that more than delivers. Easily one of my favorite YA novels of 2018.'  - Katherine Webber

You may also be interested in...

I, Cosmo
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Northern Lights
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Isadora Moon Makes Winter Magic
Added to basket
The Explorer
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Tom Gates: Spectacular School Trip (Really)
Added to basket
The Amber Spyglass
Added to basket
Dear Evan Hansen
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Wonky Donkey
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Mr Stink
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Worst Witch
Added to basket
£5.99
Paperback
Bad Dad
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
The Night I Met Father Christmas
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
The Subtle Knife
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Grandpa's Great Escape
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Snow Foal
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Riddler

“A Beautiful, Dream-Like, Dark Fantasy”

There is so much going on in this book!
The Boneless Mercies are no strangers to death, they do the work others won't or can't do, they put an end to the suffering of others.
There are parts of this book... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“A stunning stand alone”

This book was such a delight to read, mainly due to the world and writing. I'm rather sad it's standalone, because I'd love to explore the world further.

The world building in this book is wonderful.... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“Beautifully Written With Fascinating History But Not Quite As Gripping As I Imagined”

‘We made people uneasy, for we were women with weapons. And yet the Mercies were needed. Men would not do our sad, dark work.’

There’s something quite wonderful about the way in which The Boneless Mercies is written.... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.