The Bone Fire - Oswald de Lacy (Hardback)
  • The Bone Fire - Oswald de Lacy (Hardback)
zoom

The Bone Fire - Oswald de Lacy (Hardback)

(author)
£18.99
Hardback 320 Pages / Published: 25/07/2019
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

Longlisted for the 2020 Historical Writers' Association Gold Crown Award

The brand new Oswald de Lacy thriller, for fans of C.J. Sansom, Minette Walters and S.J. Parris.

'Living legends Andrew Taylor and Susanna Gregory; bestselling phenomena SJ Parris and CJ Sansom... a league of extraordinary resurrectionists. If you love their books, I invite you to visit fourteenth-century England, with SD Sykes ... Savour the company of young Oswald de Lacy, among the most appealing historical sleuths currently on the hunt.' A.J. Finn

'A fascinating glimpse of an almost forgotten period of history.' Andrew Taylor

'Sykes give it (plague) a life and character of its own - swift, remorseless and deadly' New York Times

***

1361. Plague has returned to England - thirteen years after the devastation of The Black Death.

As destruction advances towards his estate in Kent, Oswald de Lacy leads his family to the safety of a remote castle in the marshes - where his friend Godfrey is preparing a fortress to survive the coming disaster.

The rules are clear: once the de Lacys and other guests are inside the castle the portcullis will be lowered and no-one permitted to enter or leave until the Pestilence has passed.

And then a murderer strikes.

Oswald is confronted with a stark choice - leave and face the ravages of the plague, or stay and place his family at the mercy of a brutal killer. With word of his skills as an investigator preceding him, it falls to Oswald to unmask the murderer in their midst. Host, guest, or servant - everyone is a suspect in this poisoned refuge of secrets, deceit and malice.

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781473679993
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 536 g
Dimensions: 240 x 162 x 31 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
An intriguing and vivid addition to an increasingly interesting series, and a fascinating glimpse of an almost forgotten period of history. -- Andrew Taylor
Living legends Andrew Taylor and Susanna Gregory; bestselling phenomena SJ Parris and CJ Sansom... a league of extraordinary resurrectionists. If you love their books, I invite you to visit fourteenth-century England, with SD Sykes ... Savour the company of young Oswald de Lacy, among the most appealing historical sleuths currently on the hunt. -- A.J. Finn
Chilling and evocative. This book will have you gripped from the first page to the last -- Tracy Borman
If you love C.J. Sansom, you have to read S.D. Sykes. Her Oswald de Lacy series just gets better and better. The Bone Fire is a wonderfully claustrophobic and compelling mystery, filled with clever twists, fascinating characters and flashes of Sykes's sly wit. Utterly immersive, utterly gripping historical crime at its very, very best. -- Antonia Hodgson
An ingenious, twisty plot with memorable characters in an intriguing siege narrative -- Rebecca Mascull
Sykes' fourth is anchored in a grimly evocative first-person narrative reminiscent of Poe, and there's a whodunit to boot. * Kirkus *
Neatly done, crisply-paced historical... written with a fine sense of place and time * Shots Magazine *
Sykes effectively uses her diligent research in the service of a memorable plot. This outing reinforces her place in the historical mystery genre's top ranks. * Publishers Weekly *
The setting is fantastic [...] builds to a satisfyingly twisty climax * The Times *
SD Sykes proves that she is not only on top of her historical fiction game but is also a mistress of the detective genre * Historia Magazine *
Enjoyable 'locked castle' mystery * The Sunday Times *
Atmospheric, and well told * Choice Magazine *
Sykes give it (plague) a life and character of its own - swift, remorseless and deadly * New York Times *
As the number of victims rises, Oswald knows he faces a threat every bit as great as the plague that now besieges the castle walls * S Magazine *
An absolutely engrossing historical mystery * Booklist *
Sykes gives it (plague) a life and character of its own - swift, remorseless and deadly * New York Times *
Praise for S D Sykes * - *
SD Sykes proves that she is not only on top of her historical fiction game but is also a mistress of the detective genre * Historia Magazine *
An ingenious, twisty plot with memorable characters in an intriguing siege narrative -- Rebecca Mascull
The setting is fantastic [...] builds to a satisfyingly twisty climax * The Times *
Sykes is a master at combining historical setting with mystery * The Times *
The medieval CJ Sansom -- Jeffery Deaver
The whodunnit aspect is neatly done, the family secrets and waspish relationships are intriguing, and humour and originality are abundant. * Daily Mail *
Sykes effectively uses her diligent research in the service of a memorable plot. This outing reinforces her place in the historical mystery genre's top ranks. * Publishers Weekly *
An absolutely engrossing historical mystery * Booklist *
Enjoyable 'locked castle' mystery * The Sunday Times *

You may also be interested in...

Dissolution
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The White Princess
Added to basket
Tipping The Velvet
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Empty Throne
Added to basket
Lamentation
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Cinderella Sister
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Sword Song
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Grand Sophy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Red Queen
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Emperor's Babe
Added to basket
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
Master and Commander
Added to basket
American Pastoral
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.