The Bone Fire (Hardback)
  • The Bone Fire (Hardback)
zoom

The Bone Fire (Hardback)

(author)
£18.99
Hardback 320 Pages / Published: 25/07/2019
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

The brand new Oswald de Lacy thriller, for fans of C.J. Sansom, Minette Walters and S.J. Parris.

1361. Plague has returned to England - thirteen years after the devastation of The Black Death. As destruction advances towards his estate in Kent, Oswald de Lacy leads his family to the safety of a remote castle in the marshes - where his friend Godfrey is preparing a fortress to survive the coming disaster.

The rules are clear: once the de Lacys and other guests are inside the castle the portcullis will be lowered and no-one permitted to enter or leave until the Pestilence has passed.

And then a murderer strikes.

Oswald is confronted with a stark choice - leave and face the ravages of the plague, or stay and place his family at the mercy of a brutal killer. With word of his skills as an investigator preceding him, it falls to Oswald to unmask the murderer in their midst. Host, guest, or servant - everyone is a suspect in this poisoned refuge of secrets, deceit and malice.

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
ISBN: 9781473679993
Number of pages: 320
Dimensions: 240 x 156 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
An intriguing and vivid addition to an increasingly interesting series, and a fascinating glimpse of an almost forgotten period of history. -- Andrew Taylor
Chilling and evocative. This book will have you gripped from the first page to the last -- Tracy Borman
Praise for S D Sykes * - *
Sykes is a master at combining historical setting with mystery * The Times *
The medieval CJ Sansom -- Jeffery Deaver
The whodunnit aspect is neatly done, the family secrets and waspish relationships are intriguing, and humour and originality are abundant. * Daily Mail *
HISTORICAL CRIME WRITERS' PANEL

HISTORICAL CRIME WRITERS' PANEL

Canterbury - Rose Lane
Thursday 25th July 18:30

Anthony Riches' Scorpion's Strike is the latest book in his Empire series of books on Roman Gaul. Freed slaves and local rebels cause havoc in this tale from 'a master of the genre' (The Times).S.D. Sykes', 'The medieval CJ Sansom' (Jeffery Deaver) will speak about The Bone Fire, a nail-biting tale of Kent in 1361, when plague compels some to make brutal choices. ' With her cliché-free sharpness, she is a medieval Raymond Chandler' (The Independent).H.B. Lyle's Red Ribbon is the latest tale of Vernon Kell, one of Sherlock Holmes' 'Baker Street Irregulars', the urchins he trained in detection. Come and hear Lyle, a new voice on the thriller writer scene described as 'captivating' by Mick Herron, 'irresistible' by The Guardian, and 'consistently convincing' by Charles Cumming.

View

You may also be interested in...

The White Queen
Added to basket
The Tea Planter's Wife
Added to basket
Dissolution
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
Precious Bane
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
An Echo in the Bone
Added to basket
The Name Of The Rose
Added to basket
Master and Commander
Added to basket
Mightier than the Sword
Added to basket
Bring up the Bodies
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Ross Poldark
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Lords of the North
Added to basket
The Leopard
Added to basket
A Place of Greater Safety
Added to basket
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.