The Bobby Girls - The Bobby Girls (Paperback)
  • The Bobby Girls - The Bobby Girls (Paperback)
zoom

The Bobby Girls - The Bobby Girls (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 336 Pages / Published: 26/12/2019
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'Johanna Bell has hit the jackpot with this striking WW1 story' - Jenny Holmes, author of The Spitfire Girls

1914. While their men fight in France, at home in Britain women are finally seizing the opportunity to make a difference . . .

Maggie and her new friends Annie, Irene and Sarah come from very different backgrounds, but they've got one thing in common: they've all signed up for the Women Police Volunteers. They can't wait to show the men just what they're made of.

But soon, Maggie realises she's in over her head. Hiding her involvement with the WPV from her tyrannous father is becoming ever more difficult, and when she bumps into an old acquaintance with a big chip on his shoulder, the dangers of her new life become all too clear . . .

As Maggie and the girls work together to find their feet on the beat, will their friendship get her through the darkest of times?

A gritty, uplifting new saga series about the first ever female police officers, set at the outbreak of the First World War - perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Daisy Styles and Call the Midwife.

Praise for THE BOBBY GIRLS:

Filled with richly drawn characters that leap from the page, and a plot that's so well researched and well written you will believe you are in the thick of wartime policing, The Bobby Girls is a must-read for all saga fans.' - Fiona Ford, bestselling author of Christmas at Liberty's

'I really enjoyed reading about Britain's first female police officers. A lot of research has gone into this book and it's all the richer and more readable for it. An exciting new voice in women's fiction.' - Kate Thompson, bestselling author of Secrets of the Singer Girls

'I really did enjoy The Bobby Girls. It has a lovely warm feeling about it and is excellently written.' - Maureen Lee, RNA award-winning author of Dancing in the Dark

'A well-researched and interesting story giving a great insight into early women's policing.' - Anna Jacobs, bestselling author of the Ellindale series

'Written with warmth and compassion, the novel gives fascinating insights into the lives of three courageous young women.' - Margaret Kaine, RNA award-winning author of Ring of Clay

'Johanna Bell has hit the jackpot with this striking WW1 story. The author places the focus firmly on the girls' growth into independent members of society in a rapidly changing world. It's a heartening central message conveyed with verve and empathy and remains relevant to today's readers, both young and old.' - Jenny Holmes, author of The Spitfire Girls

'This is a story that needed to be told. As a former Special Constable, I love Johanna Bell from the bottom of my heart for giving a voice to the women who first made a way for me and countless others like me - to work as real police officers in the service of our communities.' - Penny Thorpe, author of The Quality Street Girls

'A lovely story! The author has researched the era and the theme very well. The characters stood out on the page and through their eyes you are transported back to a different age.' - AnneMarie Brear, author of Beneath a Stormy Sky

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781529330854
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 229 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
This fantastic debut from Johanna Bell is a wonderfully warm story of courage, friendship and grit. Filled with richly drawn characters that leap from the page, and a plot that's so well researched and well written you will believe you are in the thick of wartime policing. The Bobby Girls is a must read for all saga fans.' * Fiona Ford, bestselling author of Christmas at Liberty's *
I really enjoyed reading about Britain's first female police officers. A lot of research has gone into this book and it's all the richer and more readable for it. An exciting new voice in women's fiction. * Kate Thompson, bestselling author of Secrets of the Singer Girls *
A well-researched and interesting story giving a great insight into early women's policing. * Anna Jacobs, bestselling author of the Ellindale series *
Written with warmth and compassion, the novel gives fascinating insights into the lives of three courageous young women. * Margaret Kaine, RNA award-winning author of Ring of Clay *
A lovely story! The author has researched the era and the theme very well. The characters stood out on the page and through their eyes you are transported back to a different age. * AnneMarie Brear, author of Beneath a Stormy Sky *
I really did enjoy The Bobby Girls. It has a lovely warm feeling about it and is excellently written. * Maureen Lee, RNA award-winning author of Dancing in the Dark *
Johanna Bell has hit the jackpot with this striking WW1 crime story set in 1914 when women special constables first appeared on the streets of London. The central characters are strongly established early on as the young women who volunteer to patrol the streets. Alongside their crime solving role, the author places the focus firmly on the girls' growth into independent members of society in a rapidly changing world. It's a heartening central message conveyed with verve and empathy and remains relevant to today's readers, both young and old. * Jenny Holmes, author of The Spitfire Girls *
This is a story that needed to be told. As a former Special Constable, I love Johanna Bell from the bottom of my heart for giving a voice to the women who first made a way for me ? and countless others like me - to work as real police officers in the service of our communities. Let us not forget the fight that these women had just to be allowed to put on the uniform, and do what was right; in their own small way, the first Bobby Girls changed the world for women everywhere. * Penny Thorpe, author of The Quality Street Girls *

You may also be interested in...

A Mother's Struggle
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Cinderella Sister
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Sagas of the Icelanders
Added to basket
Doctor Zhivago
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Doctor Zhivago
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Life's Music
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Cities of the Plain
Added to basket
Kaleidoscope
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Four Swans
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Eliza's Child
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
The Black Moon
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Mammoth Hunters
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Light Behind The Window
Added to basket
A Broken Family
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Angry Tide
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Ridge Hill
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

“First Book In A New Series”

London 1914 and the men were away at war. The police are recruiting women to become volunteers. We follow Maggie. Annie and Irene as they make their way through training until they are given the police station they... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 15
GraceJReviewerlady.net

“A Terrific Debut!”

It's well documented that I enjoy books set around the domestic scene at the time of both world wars and this is right up there with the best of them!

At the beginning of WWI, women have put aside their... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 12

“A good read”

The First World War has just begun. The men are joining up & gradually women are encroaching on traditional male roles. The Women's Volunteer Police has just begun. The story follows four women who are part... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 11

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.