The Bleeding (Hardback)
  • The Bleeding (Hardback)
zoom

The Bleeding (Hardback)

(author), (translator)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£16.99
Hardback 300 Pages / Published: 15/09/2022
  • In stock

UK delivery within 5 days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Queen of French Noir, Johana Gustawsson returns with a spell-binding, dazzlingly dark gothic thriller that swings from Belle Epoque France to 21st-century Quebec, with an extraordinary mystery at its heart... FIRST in a bewitching new series

'Intriguingly dark and vivid, and so cleverly told through three different time frames' Essie Fox

'A wonderfully dark, intricately woven historical thriller spanning three generations ... it will have you hooked from the very first page' B A Paris

'This novel is a whirlpool that draws you irresistibly into levels of darkness so much deeper than you can possibly be ready for' Chris Brookmyre

_________________________________________


Three women
Three eras
One extraordinary mystery...

1899, Belle Epoque Paris. Lucienne's two daughters are believed dead when her mansion burns to the ground, but she is certain that her girls are still alive and embarks on a journey into the depths of the spiritualist community to find them.

1949, Post-War Quebec. Teenager Lina's father has died in the French Resistance, and as she struggles to fit in at school, her mother introduces her to an elderly woman at the asylum where she works, changing Lina's life in the darkest way imaginable.

2002, Quebec. A former schoolteacher is accused of brutally stabbing her husband - a famous university professor - to death. Detective Maxine Grant, who has recently lost her own husband and is parenting a teenager and a new baby single-handedly, takes on the investigation.

Under enormous personal pressure, Maxine makes a series of macabre discoveries that link directly to historical cases involving black magic and murder, secret societies and spiritism ... and women at breaking point, who will stop at nothing to protect the ones they love...

_________________________________________

'I found myself racing through the book, always wanting one more page, one more chapter. A wonderfully creepy, unsettling read, with a superb twist in its tail' James Oswald

'Gustawsson's writing is so vivid, it's electrifying. Utterly compelling' Peter James

'I was hooked from the first page - a stunning and beautifully written gothic thriller full of atmosphere, intrigue and delight' Alexandra Benedict

'What a brilliant, brilliant book ... the last chapters knocked me sideways, and it's a long time since that's happened' Lisa Hall

'A dark world of elegance and grotesque ... mesmeric' Matt Wesolowski

'Harrowing, compelling, haunting, vivid, twisty and shocking!' Noelle Holten

'A powerful page-turner' Livres Hebdo

'Fluid, skilful, fearsome and breathtaking ... the ending is horrifying' La Marseillaise

***NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER IN FRANCE***

FOR FANS OF Laura Purcell, Elizabeth Macneal, Bridget Collins, Anna Mazzola, Ambrose Parry and Laura Shepherd-Robinson

Praise for Johana Gustawsson

***Longlisted for the CWA International Dagger***


'A satisfying, full-fat mystery' The Times

'Assured telling of a complex story' Sunday Times

'A real page-turner, I loved it' Martina Cole

'Dark, oppressive and bloody, but it's also thought-provoking, compelling and very moving' Metro

'A bold and intelligent read' Guardian

'Utterly compelling' Woman's Own

'Cleverly plotted, simply excellent' Ragnar Jonasson

'A must-read' Daily Express

'Bold and audacious' R. J. Ellory

'Gritty, bone-chilling, and harrowing - it's not for the faint of heart, and not to be missed' Crime by the Book

'A relentless heart-stopping masterpiece, filled with nightmarish situations that will keep you awake long into the dark nights of winter' New York Journal of Book

Publisher: Orenda Books
ISBN: 9781914585265
Number of pages: 300
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm

An Evening with Antti Tuomainen & Johana Gustawsson

An Evening with Antti Tuomainen & Johana Gustawsson

Harrogate
Monday 3rd October 18:00

Join us for a unique international event featuring two of Europe's most beloved crime-writers. Antti Tuomainen ("The Funniest Writer in Europe" - The Times) and Johana Gustawsson ("The Queen Of French Noir") will be discussing their internationally bestselling books.

View

You may also be interested in...

The Twyford Code
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Change of Circumstance
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Lighthouse Witches
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Undiscovered Deaths of Grace McGill
Added to basket
Act of Oblivion
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback
The Silent Patient
Added to basket
Act of Oblivion
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Apples Never Fall
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Trees
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Bullet that Missed
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Ink Black Heart
Added to basket
£25.00   £12.50
Hardback
The Bullet That Missed
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
This is the Night They Come For You
Added to basket
A Flicker in the Dark
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Slow Fire Burning
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

“Magnificent Gothic Tale.”

Three different women, three different stories all entwined. What begins almost as a conventional murder mystery in Canada becomes so much more as this twisting labyrinth of passion, power and the temptation of dark... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

“Superb gothic drama with a feminist edge”

Johana Gustawsson is on fire in her latest and most shockingly vivid novel to date. She has written a strong, feminist gothic novel that ties together the lives of three women from different eras in an unflinching... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

“Dark, mysterious and stunningly written. Another classic from the author”

Oh what an absolute treat this book was. It has everything I look for in a novel - mystery, intrigue, brilliant characters and that kind of atmospheric tension that slowly wraps itself around you until you are so... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.