The Black Kids (Paperback)
  • The Black Kids (Paperback)
zoom

The Black Kids (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99 £6.49
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 04/08/2020
  • Save £1.50
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

Set during the Los Angeles race riots of 1992, Hammonds-Reed’s incendiary novel brilliantly captures the moment when circumstances force your hand and make taking a stand a necessity. 

Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this unforgettable coming-of-age debut novel is a unflinching exploration of race, class, and violence as well as the importance of being true to yourself.

Los Angeles, 1992

Ashley Bennett and her friends are living the charmed life. It's the end of high school and they're spending more time at the beach than in the classroom. They can already feel the sunny days and endless possibilities of summer.

But everything changes one afternoon in April, when four police officers are acquitted after beating a black man named Rodney King half to death. Suddenly, Ashley's not just one of the girls. She's one of the black kids.

As violent protests engulf LA and the city burns, Ashley tries to continue on as if life were normal. Even as her self-destructive sister gets dangerously involved in the riots. Even as the model black family facade her wealthy and prominent parents have built starts to crumble. Even as her best friends help spread a rumor that could completely derail the future of her classmate and fellow black kid, LaShawn Johnson.

With her world splintering around her, Ashley, along with the rest of LA, is left to question who is the us? And who is the them?

Praise for The Black Kids:

'Should be required reading in every classroom' - Nic Stone, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin
'A prescient coming-of-age debut' - Elle.com
'Utterly brilliant' - STYLIST

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN: 9781471188190
Number of pages: 368
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 22 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Explorer
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Midnight Guardians
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Added to basket
The Wonky Donkey
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Dog Man 9: Grime and Punishment
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Hardback
They Both Die at the End
Added to basket
The Ice Monster
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Last Bear
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
The Gruffalo
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Bad Dad
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Added to basket
Midnight Sun
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
Added to basket
The Hunger Games
Added to basket
Dragon Mountain
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Littlest Yak
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback

“Fantastic!”

What a great book! The Black Kids covers important messages about race and class, and combines that with the reality of being a teenager trying to understand their place in the world. Add in some difficult family... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5
Alana_booknerd

“A journey of self discovery”

I was gifted this book by Simon & Schuster Kids and Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

I hold my hands up and say that there are topics within this book that I cannot completely understand due to the... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5
Ashleigh

“An amazingly authentic YA contemporary”

Oof this book packs a punch.
In the span of these pages, this book not only tackles subjects such as systematic racism, privilege, and identity, but it also presents one of the most authentic depictions of teenage... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.