The Black Hunger (Paperback)
  • The Black Hunger (Paperback)
zoom

The Black Hunger (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 384 Pages
Published: 10/10/2024
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

'The Black Hunger is a phenomenal book full of rich historical detail, occult mysticism, and slow, creeping horror. . . a triumph' Thomas D. Lee, author of Perilous Times

John Sackville will soon be dead. Shadows writhe in the corners of his cell as he mourns the death of his secret lover and the gnawing hunger inside him grows impossible to ignore.

He must write his last testament before it is too late.

It is a story steeped in history and myth - a journey from stone circles in Scotland, to the barren wilderness of Ukraine where otherworldly creatures stalk the night, ending in the icy peaks of Tibet and Mongolia, where an ancient evil stirs . .

A spine-tingling, queer gothic horror debut where two men are drawn into an otherworldly spiral, and a journey that will only end when they reach the darkest part of the human soul. Perfect for fans of The Historian and Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell.

Praise for The Black Hunger:

'Rich in historical detail, poignant romance, sweeping adventure, and visceral terror, The Black Hunger is both utterly original and thrillingly addictive' Jennifer Thorne, author of Diavola

'A terrifying gothic journey to the place where the very cruellest, hungriest creatures hide in the snow, and wear our faces. This is a magisterial debut' Michael Rowe, author of Wild Fell

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780356522180
Number of pages: 384
Dimensions: 198 x 126 x 22 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

The Black Hunger is a stunning historical horror novel that recalls the work of Elizabeth Kostova and the best of Dan Simmons' Victorian supernatural fiction. With painterly prose, Pullen takes the reader on a terrifying gothic journey to the place where the very cruellest, hungriest creatures hide in the snow, and wear our faces. This is a magisterial debut by a major new voice in contemporary dark fantasy - Michael Rowe, author of WILD FELL

The Black Hunger is a phenomenal book full of rich historical detail, occult mysticism, and slow, creeping horror. Pullen has written a compelling queer love story that takes the reader firmly by the hand and leads them from Oxford to the Himalayas, through 1920s diplomatic intrigue and esoteric Buddhist spiritualism, all the way to war-torn Russia and the distant steppes of Siberia. Redolent of Arthur Conan Doyle and H. P. Lovecraft, The Black Hunger is a triumph that should be on your reading list - Thomas D. Lee, author of PERILOUS TIMES

Rich in historical detail, poignant romance, sweeping adventure, and visceral terror, The Black Hunger is both utterly original and thrillingly addictive - Jennifer Thorne, author of DIAVOLA

You may also be interested in...

A Court of Silver Flames
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Babel
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Tress of the Emerald Sea
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Spectacular
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Katabasis
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Godkiller
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Throne of Secrets
Added to basket
Lady Macbeth
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
The Familiar
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
When the Moon Hatched
Added to basket
Dune
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Three-Body Problem
Added to basket
In Ascension
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Emily Wilde's Encyclopaedia of Faeries
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: