The Black Flamingo (Hardback)
  • The Black Flamingo (Hardback)
zoom

The Black Flamingo (Hardback)

(author), (illustrator)
£12.99
Hardback 176 Pages / Published: 08/08/2019
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Big hearted and dizzyingly flamboyant, Atta’s verse novel about a black gay teen reclaiming his identity as a drag artist is an outspoken triumph from the opening couplet to the last.

'I masquerade in makeup and feathers and I am applauded.'

Fiercely told, this is a powerful coming-of-age story told in verse, from one of the UK's leading poets, Dean Atta.

A boy comes to terms with his identity as a mixed-race gay teen - then at university he finds his wings as a drag artist, The Black Flamingo. A bold story about the power of embracing your uniqueness. Sometimes, we need to take charge, to stand up wearing pink feathers - to show ourselves to the world in bold colour.

Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
ISBN: 9781444948585
Number of pages: 176
Weight: 352 g
Dimensions: 185 x 140 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Dean Atta's tender coming of age novel casts a fresh and enriching perspective on what it means to be seen as different at the level of race, culture, identity, heritage and gender ... an important book for young people' - Malika Booker

'The Black Flamingo is the book I wish I had when I was younger ... joyful, emotional and full of depth. The Black Flamingo becomes an emblem of so much, and I am so excited to read this again' - Travis Alabanza

'A bold and joyous hymn to self-discovery and acceptance' - The Bookseller

You may also be interested in...

Heartstopper Volume Three
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.99
Paperback
One Of Us Is Next
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
One Of Us Is Lying
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One
Added to basket
This Lie Will Kill You
Added to basket
Two Can Keep a Secret
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Wilder Girls
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Heartstopper Volume One
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.99
Paperback
P.S. I Still Love You
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Five Feet Apart
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Conference of the Birds
Added to basket
Northern Lights
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Yes No Maybe So
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Hunger Games
Added to basket
Heartstopper Volume Two
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.99
Paperback
Toffee
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback

“Perfect for fans of Sarah Crossan”

Thank you to the publishers for this review copy.
I do rather like a novel written as poetry. An excellent book to spark discussions, break down barriers, open peoples eyes to other lives.
Perfect for fans of Sarah... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 33

“Moving, poetic exploration of identity and coming of age”

Dean Atta is best known as a performance poet, so it was perhaps inevitable that his first turn to fiction would be in the form of a poetic novel. The Black Flamingo is a continuous story told in verse, its discrete... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 28

“Fabulous!”

Bold, beautiful and empowering. I loved the way that this was written, and I'm really looking forward to seeing the fully illustrated version when it's published. A must read for everyone about being your... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 22

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.