The Binding Song: A chilling thriller with a killer ending (Hardback)
  • The Binding Song: A chilling thriller with a killer ending (Hardback)
zoom

The Binding Song: A chilling thriller with a killer ending (Hardback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£14.99
Hardback 304 Pages / Published: 29/06/2017
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket

FROM THE WINNER OF THE STEPHEN KING AND GUARDIAN SHORT STORY COMPETITION.

A chilling debut for fans of Mo Hayder and Sharon Bolton, THE BINDING SONG takes you on a trip to Halvergate Prison. If you're lucky, you'll get to leave...

'Splendidly unsettling' John Connolly

Dr Janet Palmer is the new lead psychologist at HMP Halvergate in a remote, bleak area of Norfolk. At first, she was excited by the promotion. Then she starts to see how many secrets are hiding behind the high walls.

A string of inmates have committed suicide, leaving no reasons why, and her predecessor has disappeared - along with his notes. The staff are hostile, the threat of violence is ever-present, and there are rumours of an eyeless woman stalking the corridors, punishing the inmates for their sins.

Janet is determined to find out what is really going on. But the longer she stays and the deeper she digs, the more uncertain she feels.

Halvergate is haunted by something. But it may be a terror worse than ghosts...

What reviewers are saying about THE BINDING SONG:

'This book is creepy and moody in tone throughout and is certainly the kind of book you want to read with the lights on!' Goodreads reviewer

'One of the most atmospheric, eerie books I've ever read' Goodreads reviewer

'One of my highlights of 2017...an exciting, dramatic, scary and compelling read.' Goodreads reviewer

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
ISBN: 9781473642140
Number of pages: 304
Weight: 536 g
Dimensions: 237 x 171 x 27 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A splendidly unsettling debut - a chilling mystery to be read with the lights on and your back to the wall. -- John Connolly, author of the Charlie Parker series
A wonderful new arrival in the 'Norfolk Noir' genre, this deliciously gripping novel casts the familiar setting of Norwich and its surroundings in a grim and haunting new light. -- Sarah Perry, author of The Essex Serpent
A glut of troubled souls, an eerie, atmospheric setting. Elodie Harper knows how to write a damn good horror story. -- Ali Land, author of Good Me, Bad Me
I was completely engrossed. A sinister, creepy read that leaves the reader questioning everyone and trusting no-one. -- Debbie Howells, author of The Bones of You
Satisfying and thought-provoking in equal measure, and it stays in the mind long after the final page is turned. Harper, as Mr King so astutely realised, is definitely one to watch. * i Paper *
Brilliant. I had shivers. -- Jenny Blackhurst, author of Before I Let You In
The evocation of place is first class...wonderfully paced, the tension ratchets up to a very satisfying ending. A thoroughly enjoyable read. -- James Oswald, author of the Inspector McLean series
Elodie Harper's first novel, set in HMP Halvergate, has become all the more possible, given what else has been going on beyond our prison walls. Plotting, pace and writing render The Binding Song a must read. -- Jon Snow
One of the most chilling, atmospheric debuts I've read. It was so compelling and creepy my heart beat with fear at times. -- Claire Douglas, author of Local Girl Missing
Creepy from the word go, utterly compelling and hauntingly tragic - but I'll warn you now - you might have to sleep with the lights on. -- SJI Holliday, author of The Damselfly
Breathtakingly atmospheric and chilling -- Claire McGowan, author of A Savage Hunger
Deliciously creepy. The Binding Song is a nerve-jangling treat for fans of Mo Hayder or Stephen King. -- Mark Edwards
Eerie, atmospheric, dark, gripping. Hints of Susan Hill and Stephen King. Superb. -- Will Dean, author of Dark Pines

You may also be interested in...

After the Fire
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Temptation of Forgiveness
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Chalk Man
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Lethal White
Added to basket
£20.00   £13.99
Hardback
The Cry
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Wild Fire
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
A Stranger in the House
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Silent Companions
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
I'll Keep You Safe
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Thirteen
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Midnight Line
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Panic Room
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Missing Girl
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
Greeks Bearing Gifts
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“Brilliant debut! ”

If there was ever a book whose synopsis made me want to read it, it was this one! The Binding Song is a debut novel and fills me with hopes for this author's future.

Based in HMP Halvergate, our new... More

Hardback edition
15th August 2017
Helpful? Upvote 3
Bookread2day

“Loved this novel ”

Dr Janet Palmer is the new psychologist at Halvergate prison. Six men, sex offenders are on a sex offenders treatment programme. Dr Janet Palmer always makes a point of asking the sex offenders questions like how do... More

Hardback edition
16th July 2017
Helpful? Upvote 3
Trevor

“Superficial gothic ghost story”

Dr Janet Palmer has commenced a new career as a psychologist based at HMP Halvergate in the sparsely populated and bleak Norfolk countryside. This is an institution where inmates are incarcerated due to criminal or... More

Hardback edition
23rd July 2017
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.