Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
The Best Kind of People (Hardback)
  • The Best Kind of People (Hardback)
zoom

The Best Kind of People (Hardback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£16.99
Hardback 416 Pages / Published: 13/07/2017
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket

The gripping summer read perfect for fans of Megan Abbott's The Fever and Louise O'Neill's Asking For It .

'Prods at the dark underbelly of society.' Red Best Summer Beach Reads

A Prima Best Summer Read

'Compelling story characters readers will recognize and come to love and writing that makes it effortless to turn page after page.' Vancouver Sun

THE BEST KIND OF PEOPLE is a page-turning Canadian bestseller about a family on the brink of collapse. It gives no easy answers, but once you stay up all night reading it, you'll want to talk about it with everyone you know.

What if someone you trusted was accused of the unthinkable?

George Woodbury is a teacher at a prestigious Connecticut private school. He is voted Teacher of the Year every year, after he rescued the school from a gunman attack. On his daughter's 17th birthday this beloved husband and father, is arrested for sexual impropriety with teenage girls on a skiing trip.

His wife, Joan, vaults between denial and rage as the community she loved turns on her.

Their daughter, Sadie, a popular over-achieving high school senior, becomes a social pariah.

Their son, Andrew, a lawyer, assists in his father's defense, while wrestling with his own unhappy memories of his teen years coming out as gay. With George awaiting trial, how do the members of his family pick up the pieces and keep living their lives? How do they defend someone they love while wrestling with the possibility of his guilt?

'Whittall places the reader right at the centre of their pain. It's the best depiction of female suffering I've read since Jane Smiley eloquently tackled sexual abuse in A Thousand Acres.' Toronto Star

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
ISBN: 9781473658080
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 664 g
Dimensions: 243 x 180 x 36 mm

You may also be interested in...

Uncommon Type
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Milkman
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Conversations with Friends
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Winter
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
An Unsuitable Match
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
If Cats Disappeared From The World
Added to basket
A Spark of Light
Added to basket
£16.99   £11.99
Hardback
Snap
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Discovery of Witches
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Heads You Win
Added to basket
£20.00   £12.00
Hardback
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Lethal White
Added to basket
£20.00   £13.99
Hardback

Reviews

View all
Bookread2day

“Definitely worth reading ”

18322003
I read novels's review Mar 27, 2018 · edit
really liked it

This kind of story brings it back to readers attention of teachers and the rich and famous celebrities that have been accused of sexual... More

Paperback edition
27th March 2018
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.