The Berlin Shadow (Paperback)
  • The Berlin Shadow (Paperback)
zoom

The Berlin Shadow (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 320 Pages / Published: 27/05/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

A formally audacious and deeply moving memoir in three timeframes that confronts the defining trauma of the twentieth century, and its effects on a father and son.

In 1939, Jonathan Lichtenstein's father Hans escaped Nazi-occupied Berlin as a child refugee on the Kindertransport. Almost every member of his family died after Kristallnacht, and, arriving in England to make his way in the world alone, Hans turned his back on his German Jewish culture.

Growing up in post-war rural Wales where the conflict was never spoken of, Jonathan and his siblings were at a loss to understand their father's relentless drive and sometimes eccentric behaviour. As Hans enters old age, he and Jonathan set out to retrace his journey back to Berlin. Published to coincide with the eightieth anniversary, this is a highly compelling account of a father and son's attempt to emerge from the shadows of history.

For readers who enjoyed East West Street, The Berlin Shadow is a beautiful memoir about time, trauma and family.

Praise for Jonathan Lichtenstein's work:

'The writing is keenly observed and emotionally resonant. . . an impressive achievement given the breadth of its reach, from Berlin in the 1930s to Bethlehem today' New York Times on Memory

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN: 9781471167300
Number of pages: 320
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 20 mm

You may also be interested in...

Windswept & Interesting
Added to basket
£25.00   £12.50
Hardback
Celebrating the Seasons with the Yorkshire Shepherdess
Added to basket
Diddly Squat
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Wake Me Up When It's All Over...
Added to basket
Renegades
Added to basket
£35.00   £17.50
Hardback
Windswept & Interesting
Added to basket
£25.00   £19.99
Hardback
The Lyrics
Added to basket
£75.00   £60.00
Hardback
And Away...
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Wild Silence
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Taste
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
A Queen for All Seasons
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Odd Boy Out
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Shackleton
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Living the Chateau Dream
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Tour de Force
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.