The Bench (Paperback)
  • The Bench (Paperback)
zoom

The Bench (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 03/09/2020
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'With echoes of David Nicholls's One Day, this romance has just the right mix of heart-melting moments and heart-rending near misses'
Good Housekeeping

'Intensely romantic'
Sunday Mirror

'Wonderful, heart-tugging'
Prima

Perfect for fans of One Day and Me Before You, this is a heart-warming and uplifting love story spanning three decades that starts and ends on a bench, by the Richard & Judy Book Club bestselling author.

It begins at the end.

It begins on a bench, on a heath, where a woman waits for a man.

Ten years ago, they made a pact:

On this bench, on this day, they will end a love affair that's spanned three decades, or start again.

They should never have met. They should never have fallen in love.

But they did, until a lie separated them for a lifetime.

Can they fix the mistake, forgive the lie, erase the years in-between?

Can what was lost ever truly be found?

Readers are falling in LOVE with The Bench . . .

'I loved this book from beginning to end' ***** Reader review

'A raw, emotional book about love in all its guises' Sun

'I cried at the end, they were happy tears!' ***** Reader review

'Heartbreaking' Bella

'What an epic love story, I loved this so much' ***** Reader review

'Powerful, timeless and moving' Holly Miller

'Irresistible' Jemma Wayne

'Beautiful, painful, heart-breaking' ***** Reader review

'Honest, tender' Emma Rous

'Poignant and heart-wrenching' Mary Chamberlain

'I absolutely loved it' ***** Reader review

'Beautiful' Cecilia Ekback

'I fell head over heels in love with it' Fiona Mitchell

'Wonderful storytelling' ***** Reader review

'Wonderful' Lisa Ballantyne

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780349420011
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 240 g
Dimensions: 196 x 126 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
With echoes of David Nicholls's One Day, this romance has just the right mix of heart-melting moments and heart-rending near misses * Good Housekeeping *
A raw, emotional book about love in all its guises * The Sun *
A wonderful, heart-tugging romance * Prima *
Fans of David Nicholls's One Day will love this heart-tugging read * Hello! *
A quirky and intensely romantic tearjerker * Sunday Mirror *
Read it if you liked One Day . . . Have tissues to hand * Best *
Heartbreaking * Bella *
Captivating . . . this beautiful love story is touching, relatable and gloriously romantic. It found it impossible to put down * The Press and Journal *
An unforgettable story about once-in-a-lifetime love. A heartfelt and emotional depiction of two people thrown together by destiny then torn apart by circumstance. Powerful, timeless and moving - I loved it -- Holly Miller
A beautiful portrait of love. Real. Complicated. Irresistible -- Jemma Wayne
A wonderful, life-spanning novel with real heart and depth. I didn't want it to end -- Lisa Ballantyne
A sweeping love story rich with honest, tender moments -- Emma Rous
A beautiful, very special, love story about what can happen when life gets in the way. About how love can endure the impossible. About how some people are meant to be. Saskia Sarginson is such a talented writer. Her characters are so human with their shortcomings and virtues, they could be us - they are us. And thus, their moments of grace are ours. I loved this book. -- Cecilia Ekback
A poignant and heart-wrenching love story, tender and suspenseful and exquisitely written. The characters are painted with such compassion and sympathy: we enter into their longing, into their passionate and aching worlds, willing the story to end well for them, not wanting it to end, but to go on forever. This is one of the best love stories written, engrossing and utterly immersive. Saskia Sarginson never disappoints. -- Mary Chamberlain
Saskia Sarginson is a gifted and versatile writer. She can turn her hand to just about any genre - be it thriller, historical or literary. This is the fourth novel of hers that I have read and for me, it's right up there with her best work. The Bench feels like a book that the world really needs right now. Packed full of surprises and kindness, I certainly fell head over heels in love with it. -- Fiona Mitchell
A beautiful romance with likeable characters you invest in wholeheartedly . . . an intriguing, thought-provoking, uplifting tale of love, loss, deceit, and destiny * www.moreaboutbooks.com *

You may also be interested in...

Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
Summerwater
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Vanishing Half
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Leave the World Behind
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
How to Kill Your Family
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Lying Life of Adults
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Mayflies
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
One August Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Marlow Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.