Ts&Cs apply
The Beast Player (Paperback)
  • The Beast Player (Paperback)
zoom

The Beast Player (Paperback)

(author), (translator)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 512 Pages
Published: 01/03/2018
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

Elin's family have an important responsibility: caring for the fearsome water serpents that form the core of their kingdom's army. So when some of the beasts mysteriously die, Elin's mother is sentenced to death as punishment.

With her last breath she manages to send her daughter to safety. Alone, far from home, Elin soon discovers that she can talk to both the terrifying water serpents and the majestic flying beasts that guard her queen.

This skill gives her great powers, but it also involves her in deadly plots that could cost her life. Can she save herself and prevent her beloved beasts from being used as tools of war? Or must she face the terrible battles to come?

Publisher: Pushkin Children's Books
ISBN: 9781782691679
Number of pages: 512
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

A spine-tingling fantasy that should delight boys as well as girls - New Statesman

It's everything a book should serve up to a child at this age - life, death, survival, love, dragons (or todas, in this case, serpents of Japanese folklore that carry men in battle), and, above all, perfect prose - iNews

Questions humanity's tyranny over the natural world and persistently asserts the need for balanced compassion over unchecked greed... A beautifully layered coming-of-age tale - Japan Times

Beautiful... this epic fantasy is a must for any reader interested in complex imaginary worlds. Uehashi creates worlds on a par with Tolkein's in terms of attention to the most minuscule of details - Children's Books Ireland

Imaginative, immersive... A richly detailed coming-of-age fantasy epic - Kirkus Reviews

Gripping... a sophisticated, subtle tale... it all culminates in a climax that will have you turning the pages so fast your fingers will hardly be able to keep up... this is a book to treasure - BookTrust

Enthralling, epic storytelling at its best - The Alligator's Mouth

This is a 5 star for me, I just thought it was phenomenal... It's such an amazing story, a story of politics and history and relationships and its got this beautiful animal human relationship - Elena Reads Books

This is storytelling at its best... The kind of book which defies age boundaries. It deserves a place on every bookshelf - Book Murmuration (blog)

Even if you don't typically enjoy young adult fantasy, Nahoko Uehashi's "The Beast Player" is a perfect read for the underlying context of the zeitgeist... [a] beautifully layered coming-of-age tale - Japan Times

Huge fun - Amanda Craig

Amazing... A stunningly built world with a Black Beauty feel to it in the nurturing of creatures - Down the Rabbit Hole

Uehashi allows the reader insights into Elin's consciousness throughout the novel so that her grief, friendships, moral dilemmas and empathy with the royal beast cub she rears make this both a captivating and contemplative fantasy novel - The School Librarian

A thrilling way to begin a voyage of discovery into the extraordinary realms of this master storyteller... Will satisfy even the most demanding fantasy lovers - South China Morning Post

Hirano is a gifted stylist... [and brings us] moments of lyrical beauty... The Beast Player, like its titular character, make[s] an unexpected music of its own - SCBWI Japan Translation Group

A colourful and nuanced fantasy. Nahoko Uehashi does an incredible job of fleshing out the world and the characters. Nothing is black and white, nor as simple as it may first appear. Heart-warming and gut wrenching - The Bookaneers

Can a book ever be as beautiful as it's cover, when it's cover looks like this one does? Yes. Yes it bloody can. Nahoko Uehashi has created an incredible world, with fascinating creatures & heart-stopping politics; as well as characters you can't help but love & others you can't help but hate. This book took me into another world & when I finished it I felt like I had forgotten about the real world; I was mesmerised by this story every time I picked it up & I'm aching for the rest of the series - Writing Wolves (blog)

IT'S AMAZING. Truly, wonderfully amazing - Books Femme (blog)

An extraordinary and unique tale of intrigue, danger and adventure. Something different for the Summer - Sue & Pakka's (blog)

[Nahoko Uehashi] has an extraordinary ability to create different fantasy worlds - Hans Christian Andersen Prize jury

The best Japanese fantasy tale in years - Kochi Shimbun newspaper

The world feels real, the character construction is exceptional, and the plot development is complex-all these make The Beast Player an excellent read - Nikkan Gendai

I was blown away by the book's phenomenal scale and gripping storyline - Tetsuo Matsuda

Beautifully written, thought-provoking and utterly immersive - Japan Times

You may also be interested in...

Geomancer: In the Shadow of the Wolf Queen
Added to basket
Wrath of the Triple Goddess
Added to basket
A Mind Full of Murder
Added to basket
Howl’s Moving Castle
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
Added to basket
Paper Dragons: The Fight for the Hidden Realm
Added to basket
Who Let the Gods Out?
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Impossible Creatures
Added to basket
To Be A Cat
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Oh Mummy Mia!
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
How to Train Your Dragon
Added to basket
The Girl of Ink & Stars
Added to basket
Skulduggery Pleasant
Added to basket
Lorna at Bridport

“I stood on the edge of that abyss between man and beast and played my harp for you, checking each note, one by one, to see if it would reach you.”

The Beast Player is the perfect book for those who, like me, love animals.

The story begins with the main character, Elin, as a young girl living with her mother, who looks after the vicious toda (giant and volatile... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 29

“Perfect for fans of Studio Ghibli.”

Epic fantasy detailing the struggles between two ruling factions of one nation, each in charge of a race fearsome mythical beasts. Themes of civil war, political power struggles, abuse of powers and respect for... More

Paperback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 17

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: