The Bear and The Nightingale: (Winternight Trilogy) - Signed Edition - Winternight Trilogy (Hardback)
  • The Bear and The Nightingale: (Winternight Trilogy) - Signed Edition - Winternight Trilogy (Hardback)
zoom

The Bear and The Nightingale: (Winternight Trilogy) - Signed Edition - Winternight Trilogy (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 336 Pages / Published: 28/03/2019
  • Sold out

Unfortunately, we don't expect to receive any further stock

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
Signed Edition

Beware the evil in the woods. . . In a village at the edge of the wilderness of northern Russia, where the winds blow cold and the snow falls many months of the year, an elderly servant tells stories of sorcery, folklore and the Winter King to the children of the family, tales of old magic frowned upon by the church. But for the young, wild Vasya these are far more than just stories. She alone can see the house spirits that guard her home, and sense the growing forces of dark magic in the woods. . . Atmospheric and enchanting, with an engrossing adventure at its core, The Bear and the Nightingale is perfect for readers of Naomi Novik's Uprooted, Erin Morgenstern's The Night Circus, and Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials. ***** Now with over 100 5* reviews, readers are spellbound by this magical story: 'This book stayed with me, I didn't want it to end' 'A beautifully written story' 'An entrancing story, which swept me up from the very first chapter' 'Full of magic' *Make sure you've read all the books in the Winternight Trilogy* 1. The Bear and the Nightingale 2. The Girl in the Tower 3. The Winter of the Witch

Publisher: Ebury Publishing
ISBN: 9781529100723
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 453 g
Dimensions: 222 x 144 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"beautiful literary fairytale...incredibly lyrical prose...a joy to read. Arden opens her imagination wide and succeeds in transporting the reader to an evocative world...with a heroine it's impossible not to love..." * Stylist *
"[A]n enchanting wintertime read... fierce and otherworldly[.]" * Psychologies Magazine *
"Wonderfully inventive" * Heat Magazine *
"Arden's debut novel has the cadence of a beautiful fairy tale but is darker and more lyrical. The novel is deceptively simple, but its characters and plot are sophisticated and complex. Arden explores what happens when fear and ignorance whip people into a furore, and how society can be persuaded to act against its own interests so easily. It's a rather apt tale for our times." * Washington Post *
"An extraordinary retelling of a very old tale. A Russian setting adds a unfamiliar spice to the story of a young woman who does not rebel against the limits of her role in her culture so much as transcend them. A wonderfully layered novel of family roles and the harsh wonders of deep winter magic." -- Robin Hobb

You may also be interested in...

Mordew
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Six Crimson Cranes
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Good Omens
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Alice
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Blood of Elves
Added to basket
Caraval
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Once Upon a Broken Heart
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The House in the Cerulean Sea
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Once and Future Witches
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Deadly Education
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Kingdom of the Cursed
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Empire of the Vampire
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
House of Earth and Blood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Iron Widow
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Piranesi
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“A magical story”

This Russian fairytale is atmospheric and rich in detail. It is a book that is perfect to read when the weather is cold outside. You will be drawn to this world of wonder but beware, things may not be all that they... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 184

“Lyrical, Fantastical, and Awe inspiring!”

Lyrical, Fantastical, and Awe inspiring, The Bear and the Nightingale is up there with Naomi Novik's Uprooted, and has me still thinking about it.
A beautiful historical tale of family, fairytales, and the... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 103
Angie at Glasgow Sauchiehall Street

“Ultimate verdict: Fairy tale lovers cannot go wrong with this.”

I didn't love it quiiiite as much as Naomi Novik's 'Uprooted' or Catherryne Valente's 'Deathless', but those (in my opinion) are two mighty tough acts to follow. Overall, it was... More

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.