The Balloon Thief (Paperback)
  • The Balloon Thief (Paperback)
zoom

The Balloon Thief (Paperback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 400 Pages
Published: 03/03/2022
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Featuring airborne adventure and wicked djinn spirits, Marufu's exhilarating YA debut finds a sixteen-year-old fleeing an arranged marriage in a hot air balloon - and into a dangerous world of magic and curses.

The year's must-read YA fantasy - ancient djinn, an epic adventure, and one girl's courage to seek her own destiny...

Burn the flame. Seek the night. For Khadija, the only escape from her father's arranged betrothal is the sky. When she spots a rogue hot air balloon fighting against its ropes, she leaps at the chance for adventure.

Khadija soon finds an unlikely ally in a poor glassmaker's apprentice, Jacob. But Jacob is a hari, and Khadija a Ghadaean. The hari are oppressed and restless - their infamous terrorist group, the Hareef, have a new fearsome leader. And the ruling Ghadaeans are brutal in their repression. Soon, a deadly revolution threatens their friendship and their world. The Hareef use forbidden magic, summoning jinn - wicked spirits made of fire - to enact their revenge, forcing Jacob and Khadija to choose what kind of a world they want to save...

A commercial, thrilling and uplifting fantasy adventure following sixteen-year-old Khadija, who flees her home in a stolen hot air balloon to escape an arranged marriage The debut novel from enthralling new talent, twenty-four-year-old Aneesa Marufu, which draws on the author's South Asian heritage. Explores racism, misogyny and discrimination in a highly original fantasy universe perfect for fans of Noughts & Crosses, We Hunt the Flame and Rebel of the Sands.

Publisher: Chicken House Ltd
ISBN: 9781913696078
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 320 g
Dimensions: 198 x 131 x 31 mm

You may also be interested in...

If He Had Been with Me
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Powerless
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Lightlark
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
If Only I Had Told Her
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Powerful
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Better Than the Movies
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Throne of Glass
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Hunger Games
Added to basket
The Only Light Left Burning
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Five Survive
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Girl in Pieces
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Inheritance Games
Added to basket
One Of Us Is Lying
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Reappearance of Rachel Price
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Good Girl, Bad Blood
Added to basket
As Good As Dead
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

“A Powerful and Gripping Magical Adventure”

... But more than that, this book deals with some incredibly punchy issues so deftly. The nature of freedom and oppression, privilege and finding one's place in a world designed to keep people down. What the... More

Maureen at Waterstones Belfast

“Beautifully constructed world and rich characters.”

I was sent a proof copy of this book and without reading much about it I dove in- and boy am I glad I did! I couldn't put it down!

Set in a beautiful, colourful world with heartbreaking problems, the... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5

“A powerful, thought-provoking read, set in an exquisitely drawn world”

I was lucky enough to get a proof copy of The Balloon Thief and it completely blew me away.
The worldbuilding is spellbinding, but never slows the plot - which is absolutely action-packed.
The story tackles tough... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: