The Bad Beginning 20th anniversary gift edition - A Series of Unfortunate Events (Hardback)
  • The Bad Beginning 20th anniversary gift edition - A Series of Unfortunate Events (Hardback)
zoom

The Bad Beginning 20th anniversary gift edition - A Series of Unfortunate Events (Hardback)

(author), (illustrator)
£9.99
Hardback 192 Pages / Published: 07/01/2021
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Lemony Snicket's The Bad Beginning is the first book in the globally bestselling series A Series of Unfortunate Events. This exclusive gold foiled 20th anniversary hardback gift edition commemorates the miserable fact that every child in the world has wanted this brilliantly funny book for twenty years.

Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl and Mr Gum, young readers of 9 to 11 will adore the mischievously dark humour. Lemony Snicket's 'A Series of Unfortunate Events' has been made into a blockbuster Hollywood film starring Jim Carrey and is also a hit Netflix TV series. Now with new anniversary blurb by the mysterious author himself.

Dear Reader,

For the past twenty years, my books have been upsetting the countless readers who have been foolish enough to begin to read them. The three Baudelaire siblings and their lives of misery and woe have now been responsible for more than two decades of weeping. From the very first page of this book, when the children are at the beach and receive terrible news, to the last page, when something goes wrong at the worst possible moment, disaster strikes Violet, Klaus and Sunny wherever they go.

In this short book alone, the three youngsters encounter a greedy and repulsive villain, itchy clothing, a disastrous fire, a plot to steal their fortune, and cold porridge for breakfast.

I have spent the last twenty years writing down these unpleasant details so that they might be available to the general public, but there is nothing stopping the general public, or you, from putting this book down at once and reading something less upsetting, if you prefer that sort of thing.

With all due respect,
Lemony Snicket

Are you unlucky enough to own all 13 adventures?

The Bad Beginning
The Reptile Room
The Wide Window
The Miserable Mill
The Austere Academy
The Ersatz Elevator
The Vile Village
The Hostile Hospital
The Carnivorous Carnival
The Slippery Slope
The Grim Grotto
The Penultimate Peril
The End

And what about All the Wrong Questions? In this four-book series a 13-year-old Lemony chronicles his dangerous and puzzling apprenticeship in a mysterious organisation that nobody knows anything about:

'Who Could That Be at This Hour?'
'When Did you Last See Her?'
'Shouldn't You Be in School?'
'Why is This Night Different from All Other Nights?'

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780755500321
Number of pages: 192
Weight: 220 g
Dimensions: 182 x 134 x 18 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Perhaps A Series of Unfortunate Events is so special simply because Handler saw children as people. He took his readers seriously', Guardian

You may also be interested in...

As Good As Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Six of Crows
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Funnybones
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Peppa Pig: Peppa's Happy Halloween
Added to basket
The Hawthorne Legacy
Added to basket
Bluey: Goodnight Fruit Bat
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
There's a Unicorn in Your Book
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
They Both Die at the End
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Monsters of Rookhaven
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
It's Behind You
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Lion Above the Door
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Girls I've Been
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Bell Jar
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Afterlove
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
One Of Us Is Lying
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.